Tea Time

February 11, 2013 § 5 Comments

Five weeks out means that this girl is putting in quality time on her legs and leaving very little energy to type – let alone have to think of something to blog about. But for now I did want to share about something that makes me so happy at the end of a long training day: tea!

First, I have to give credit where credit is due. My love of tea has always existed, but living with Carly last year was what really fostered it and made it grow. Carly gave me carbonated water, tea, Carlyssa bars, and a fast running partner – seriously is there anything amazing she didn’t contribute?

Anyway, Carly gently steered me away from the teabags I had been using, and showed me the light with loose tea and a steeper. I would recommend this one, as it’s easy to clean and perfect for just making a mug for one. I have found tea is perfect for a post-ride warm up (or a pre-ride bev as you get yourself psyched-up to be riding in 25 degree weather!). But, what I use tea the most for is bedtime.

In general, I survive pretty well on very little sleep and have no issue getting right to bed. But, there are some nights when a workout isn’t finished until 9 or 9:30pm….and with a 4:30 or 5am wake-up call the next day, that means I have about 1 hour to get done from my workout, eat and get into bed. With all that scrambling, it’s easy to trick your body into not getting tired – exactly the opposite of what I need. So, chamomile tea is my secret weapon! My favorite is Cha-Cha, from Adagio teas. I also like the rooibos vanilla blend (I mean, it says it tastes like cookies in the description so that was an easy sell.) And I’ve discovered that some of the chocolatey blends are decent substitutes for dessert cravings.

Happy tea-ing!

teapot

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Tea Time

  • Yay tea!! Also, tea is a great source of antioxidants, which are excellent allies in the fight against cancer and heart disease and may also help athletes who, due to training loads, have an elevated level of ROS in their system. Plus antioxidants boost your immune system, so you won’t get sick and miss all that fun time on the bike!

    People who are new to tea can also check out David’s Teas. They have yummy flavored blends that are less in your face than straight up black or green tea. That’s where that great chocolate peppermint one was from!

  • Love tea!! And you are so right about loose tea and steeping! My oldest has a cup on cold morning while we wait for the bus. He loves it!

  • shayla says:

    ooh, i’m sooo with you on this. i usually at least keep tea bags at my office (convenience) but always have a wide variety of tea at home. especially chamomile and bedtime teas! yum.

  • Holly says:

    Also a huge tea fan. Black tea especially, but lately have been drinking organic echinacea tea. The few times I’ve felt myself getting sick, I’ve kicked it before it even started. Now if I could just get out and go for a run like you!! 😉

  • Alisa says:

    OMG Vanilla Rooibos Tazo is the BEST. Trader Joes also has a ruby red chai spiced rooibos, also delicious!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tea Time at .

meta

