January is for….racing?

January 8, 2013 § 4 Comments

I have to say that my mind is a little confused about why I’m getting out the old bike box again. A lack of daylight and gloves for every run usually does not add up to “time to race” mentality. But this year is much different, and while social media indicates that many of my friends are (finally) getting back on  training bandwagon, I’m happy to report I am feeling fit and ready to test out my racing legs! In fact, a lot of my workouts lately have taken me back to about 2 years ago, when I was in a similar situation in preparation for the HURT 100 mile. Despite being in Hawaii, not many people are jumping to race an ultra in January. And much to my dismay, there aren’t many people looking to race an Ironman in March either – even if it is in Mexico!

But I have always found that it’s these training blocks – when the sunlight is minimal, the hours are cold, and the company is lacking, that are the most meaningful. Because to be honest, these are the times when you have to remember how much you simply love the sport. Because if you didn’t, you wouldn’t get out there and ride when it’s 30 degrees, windy and drizzling. And you wouldn’t get up for a 6k swim at 5am. And you wouldn’t get up to run on a cold windy track. But you do it because you love it, and you love the dream that you’re chasing. Because you love the hard. And, as I was reminded the other day as I watched A League of Their Own on the trainer – it’s the hard that makes it great.

I will be thinking about all those who are in their final preparation for HURT as I race this weekend! Let the 2013 fun begin!

HURT1

HURT2

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to January is for….racing?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading January is for….racing? at .

meta

