Up & Coming PLUS What I’ve Noticed….

November 14, 2012 § 4 Comments

Ever since I have been back from Hawaii these weeks have been flying by. If I don’t stop and catch my breath here, the off season will be all gone before I know it! But, the offseason doesn’t necessarily mean “off” altogether. It should be called something more like the “change it up” season – a time to break up the normal routine with some other races and workouts to keep things fit but fun!

I do have a couple races in the off-season though. First up will be the Gobble Cobble – Baltimore’s own turkey trot! I have run and/or volunteered at this race the past few years and it is always a good time. The fact that the night before is always a big night for the bars keeps it extra interesting 🙂

The “big” event on the horizon is a triathlon. A winter tri – am  I traveling to the equator? Will I be going to Brazil? Sadly, none of the above, but a new race with a Half and Full distance did pop up in Key West for 2013, so in January I am excited to head down there for the inaugural event (I’m doing the half). Well, as excited as one can be when “beware of Portugese Man ‘o’ Wars” is in the athlete guide. It’s called the Bone Island Triathlon for anyone else looking for a winter getaway!

The temperatures have been dropping here and if the Farmer’s Almanacs are correct, we are in for a long winter. So here are a handful of things that I have noticed to help you get through the long cold days/nights:

-The Oiselle Rundelicious top. Am I going out? Staying in? Going for a run? Who knows, because I can do it all in this super cute and versatile running top. Love love love this.

-J. Crew Matchstick pants. Being an “athletically” built girl, I never could ever imagine a world in which I wore skinny jeans….until I found these pants. Built for girls with cycling thighs and small waists, these are super duper cute and they have them in all styles/colors (though the cords don’t work for me…just the jeans. Still awesome though)

-Nine West boots! Both Carly and myself are blessed with huge calves, making boot wearing nearly impossible in the winter time. But, we have both found great success with Nine West boots this season. So, if you usually stray from tall boots because your athletic calves make even suede slouch boots look like pleathery spandex on you, I would head on over and grab a pair.

BlueSeventy Element goggle. The only goggle I have so far that is leak proof, and doesn’t give me a headache with marathon winter swim sessions! PS – these came free to all Rev3 participants in the swag bags this year!

-Mouse Traps. Because mice apparently like to come into warm city basements when it’s winter. Gross.

-I also just updated my winter cycling gear with plenty of Pearl Izumi winter riding clothes, so I will be putting that to good use in the next few weekends. I will let you know what is working for me when the temps are low!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Up & Coming PLUS What I’ve Noticed….

  • Thanks for the pant/boots recommendations! I’ve been searching for a nice pair of brown knee-highs, and it’s killing me finding any that are kind to my athletic calves. Enjoy Bone Island! It sounds like it will be a great race!

  • Haley says:

    I need to try some of those jeans ASAP! Key West sounds amazing (and warm!) AND I really think you need to spend some off-season time working on your autobiography because between the Naval Academy, ultra marathons, and elite triathlon (and probably more I don’t know about) your story needs to be told! And if you could save me an autographed copy too, I’d appreciate it!!! Also, I am wearing my Oiselle tee on the flight to AZ!! Figured it has to be good luck! And omg this is the longest blog comment ever!!!! I blame the airplane “maintenance issue”…

  • I love Jcrew Matchstick jeans! I bought them last year before they added a little stretch and now I want a new pair or two or three! 🙂

  • hah, i went shopping too in the ‘off-season.’ (and i bought skinny jeans) not training is not good for my wallet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Up & Coming PLUS What I’ve Noticed…. at .

meta

