Why I Voted: A Female Athlete’s Perspective

November 3, 2012 Comments Off on Why I Voted: A Female Athlete’s Perspective

Yesterday, I voted (I am out of town on election day so early voting it is!). This was the second election I voted in (in 2004 I was at school in Ohio and to my knowledge I didn’t do an absentee ballot), but this time there was a particular reason behind my vote. Well, there are several issues that I cared about on the ballot yesterday, but this post is about one of them.

I am proud to say that I voted for Obama.

I am twenty seven years old. I have a full time job to support myself, my cat Amelia, pay my mortgage, and fund my pursuit of my passions. One of those passions, as you all know, is triathlon. I have made great strides in this past year, and have set a goal for myself of racing as a professional – hopefully in 2014.

To be a professional athlete, or even a wanna-be professional athlete, your body becomes a finely tuned machine that is your most valuable asset .  Yesterday I voted in favor of a man who will support a women’s right to choose how her body is treated. I voted for a man who will continue funding Planned Parenthood, an organization that offers women access to various medical services, so that she can pursue her dream. Yesterday I voted for a man who is helping me towards my goal of becoming a professional athlete – and he doesn’t even know it.

This is *not*, I repeat *not* a post about abortion or anything to do with it. This is a post about my right to have access to a network of doctors who help me get the medications and services I need to keep my body fit and ready, in hope of one day racing professionally. This post is to remind people that there are athletes out there who have little (if any) insurance coverage, and Planned Parenthood may be the only option for them to reasonably afford routine care.

Thank you for reading and I hope you consider this as you head to the polls on Tuesday!

(Comments have been disabled on this post as I just want to voice my opinion and do not want this to be a political debate of any sort! If you would like to share your thoughts with me please feel free to reach out via my “contact me” page. Thanks for understanding!)

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I Voted: A Female Athlete’s Perspective at .

meta

