Family First: I Support Rev3 and UCF

September 25, 2012 § 1 Comment

To be honest, I have a lot of things that are on my mind right now, and Lance Armstrong isn’t making the top 5. That’s why I’ll make this quick.

When I left the world of ultras (I only consider this a sabbatical – don’t worry!) to focus on triathlons, one of the hardest parts was the loss of a “family” in my sport. I don’t have a huge family – we don’t have large gatherings at the holidays, there’s no huge family reunions. And that’s always been okay because I’ve found a family in my soccer team, my lacrosse team, or later in life, my trail-running-ultra-crazy friends. At first, that wasn’t something that I had in triathlon. And then I met the Rev3 crew.

Words can’t do justice to what this group of people has meant to me over the past year. This group has helped me through it all – the petty frustrations that life hands you, to the larger stuff – like when I got hit by a car while riding my bike in July (details of this are still being withheld from the internet until the insurance claims are wrapped up). I can assure you that the reason I made it through all of this in the past year – and came out on top – is because of the Rev3 family.

Rev3 is my family. The Ulman Cancer Fund is my family. And therefore, each and every life that these organizations touch, becomes a life that I care about. I believe in the work he does and the decisions that are made by Charlie Patten. I believe in the tireless dedication and sincere devotion to changing lives that Brian, Brock, and the rest of the crew at Ulman has. I believe that there are many others out there like my date for homecoming in my junior year of high school, John Petrovick, who were taken from this world too early by cancer, and whose lives are changed by UCF.

Family. Friends. An open heart. An open mind.

Those are the things that I believe in. And those are the people that I will stand behind.

Now if you excuse me, I have a little race in Kona to prepare for.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Family First: I Support Rev3 and UCF

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Family First: I Support Rev3 and UCF at .

meta

