Bike camp by the numbers

August 9, 2012 § 9 Comments

1,207 – miles I rode. (Julie guessed it!!) If my ride was indoors I used 16 mph as my conversion.

30 – days of bike camp (July 9-August 8)

20 – number of hours I spent in the saddle in each of the last 2 weeks

4.5 – number of hours of riding I could squeeze in a day while still working from 9 – 6

2 – hours of my longest run off the bike

3- number of live “wild” animals I saw while riding…..2 deer and a raccoon. (National Geographic should be calling me any day for a story, I know it.)

115 – length in miles of my longest ride.

5 – number of times “hey can I ride wit you” was yelled at me while riding through West Baltimore.

7 – minutes faster I am riding my 2 hour loop since the beginning of camp

4 – seconds faster I am running my 400’s since bike camp happened.

As you can see there has been a lot of quality chamois time going on here! This was definitely one of the more challenging training blocks I’ve experienced, but I have no doubt the mental and physical gains are worth it. Goodbye (for now) bike camp!

§ 9 Responses to Bike camp by the numbers

  • ashiashay says:

    awesome stuff! (is this the weekend you’re in Wisconsin??)

  • Katie says:

    I am just amazed. I keep sitting here thinking about all those hours on the bike. My biggest weeks leading up to Placid were 20 hours and you did that on the bike!

    • agodesky says:

      Thanks Katie! Honestly….I didn’t realize that I had done a week with 20 hours alone of biking until someone asked me and I looked back at my log. I guess that goes to show it’s important to just take it day by day…otherwise I’m sure I would have psyched myself out!

  • Kelly says:

    I laughed so hard at #5. I couldn’t tell you the number of times I heard “Hey gurl can I run wit you” while running through Baltimore.

  • Haley says:

    You are INCREDIBLE!!! Has to give you so much confidence going into the fall. I can’t wait to see the hard work pay off!!

  • Emily says:

    whoop whoop!!! so awesome. keep crushing it!

  • Alisa says:

    Wow! So, was this an organized bike camp or something you created? If it was a creation, I may need to steal some tips…clearly, 20 hours on the bike in one week is not something I’m interested in or could possibly do (at least now) but cycling mileage is still something I need to work on in the “off season”

    • agodesky says:

      Alisa, bike camp is the brain child of Hillary (my coach). I’d be happy to give you some tips on how I managed to squeeze in the extra mileage and how we were structuring the workouts. Feel free to email me directly and I can elaborate on all of that whenever you’re ready:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bike camp by the numbers at .

meta

