CDA Picturefest!

June 23, 2012 § 1 Comment

I can assure any of you that if you ever want an adventure while traveling for a race, just invite me along. Somehow I have a way of planning things well on paper, then when it’s time to execute them there are always a few speed bumps! Things started off interestingly for my friend David who was the first to arrive from our crew. He showed up to the address for the house I told him I had rented, only to find another family already there. After a few minutes of “hey, I’m here to rent the house” vs. “no, we’re here to rent the house” they finally discovered that I had been given the wrong address! Meanwhile, I was no help because I was somewhere in the sky over Colorado. David was given address #2, which also proved to be a dead end seeing as that one didn’t even exist! After that snafu, the rental woman basically just described the house to David and told him to go look for it….”no one really uses addresses around here anyway” according to her! Little does she know, where we come from if you walk into the wrong house you might get shot!

Alls well that ends well though, David found the house and got me the address which made my 12:30 am arrival fairly pain free. Renting a house here is definitely the way to go if you can – a kitchen to cook in and away from all the chaos, I couldn’t ask for too much more. The family renting out the home also left several kind notes around the house for us:

It was evident the family has a teenage girl in the house too, so her loft became my room for the weekend and I love it! I have named it the “princess loft:”

Yesterday was a day off of the legs but I did scoot down into town to check in the lake while I picked up my packet. Yes, it’s cold! Hopefully that will just make me swim faster 🙂 It is truly gorgeous out here though, and I’m loving the scenery. Plans for Monday are already including a jet ski tour of the lake!

I am definitely missing my Rev3 family here but hoping to meet up with a few of them who are out here racing as well. In the meantime, I have been running into some other friends. MBK and I caught up yet again (don’t ask why my head looks so big compared to hers in this picture…one of life’s mysteries….):

And then I ran into another HB athlete, Laura, who is here for her first IM and ready to rock it no doubt!!

As you can see I’ve been sporting my Oiselle “Dream Big” tee and loving it! Definitely one of my fav designs and you can find it here. And now one last picture before I go. I found this in the fridge at the rental house and thought it had to have been planted by Hillary who is I’m sure subliminally sending me messages to make sure I keep eating properly before the race! Seriously, what is this stuff?!

Good luck to all those racing this weekend! Here we go again…. 🙂

§ One Response to CDA Picturefest!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading CDA Picturefest! at .

meta

