(98) Days of Summer

June 17, 2012 § 3 Comments

Before you read any further, please stop and make sure that you read the (real) 98 Days of Summer post by my blog-twin Cathleen. I would say I stole the idea, but she *did* say at the end of her post she encouraged readers to make a list of their own. She may not have specifically said “you can also steal the clever title”….but I figure it all evens out in the end 🙂 
 
Here are a few things I am looking forward to this summer: 
1. Bike commute. My original goal was to bike commute for 100 of the days remaining of the year. 365 – 169 (today) = 196. Then I realized that I didn’t take weekends into account….that leaves me with 114 more work days of the year. Plus, with my CDA and Hawaii trips alone, I am down to 104. Suddenly 100 days seemed much less doable. BUT, my intent was to be biking about half of the days left. So, I am shooting for 52 days now. Not as cool a number, but that’s okay. I am counting on some picture perfect summer days to knock out as much as I can!
 
2. Grow a pepper. Back in May, I was gifted a pepper plant. I eat peppers, so it seemed like a great thing at first. Then I realized that growing peppers from said pepper plant actually required some sort of caring for the plant. I thought I could do it – I re-potted it, added some soil, and set it out on the back patio….where I forgot about it for about 3 weeks. I was lucky to have remembered before it completely bit the dust and I am slowly nursing it back to health. So it would be cool if I could get even just one measly pepper from this thing this summer. 
 
3. Thru hike the Laurel Highlands Hiking Trail. While a thru hike of the AT would be the ultimate dream, that seems a bit lofty and not really feasible at this stage in my life. So I have settled on the LHHT. Seventy miles long and only a few hours away by car, this is a great intro to thru hiking. I am hoping to complete this one in July!
 
4. Travel without my bike. I can’t remember a weekend away where I haven’t had to pack up the bike and take it along. We have a wedding to attend this July and am planning on heading down to the Outer Banks with Ryan bike-less. Whatever will we do with ourselves?!?!
 
5. See the Hunger Games. Seriously. How have I STILL not seen this?!
 
While this list is by no means all inclusive, I do think it was a great idea to sit down and get some short term goals down on paper the internet. And Cathleen’s words that “in the end, perhaps your expectations won’t align with reality, but it’s fun to plan and fun to dream” are so true as well (and also another 500 days reference!). In a sport where patience is one of the most necessary virtues, enjoying the process is a necessity. We all have our big dreams and our lofty goals and our “one day’s”….but until those are a little closer, don’t be afraid to sit down and accomplish some other stuff in the next 98 days of summer 🙂 The big goals will still be there in the fall!
§ 3 Responses to (98) Days of Summer

  • Megan says:

    I’m stealing this from you and Cathleen and doing it on my blog too. 🙂 I was to travel with my bike. I have never ventured too far from home with my bike and I’d love to take it to Oregon or at least Eastern Washington to do some riding. Have a fantastic summer Alyssa!

  • Cathleen says:

    Great post! I’m flattered. 🙂 I love how goals like training for an Ironman or training 20+ hours a week don’t make the cut, but things like growing a pepper, watching a movie, cooking real meals, or spectating a race probably won’t happen unless we tell cyberspace. Good luck!!

  • fionarwbl says:

    This is an awesome idea! Sometimes I feel like I get to labor day and have had no idea where the summer went … My summer goal is to try Stand Up Paddleboarding, and take a hiking-based vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading (98) Days of Summer at .

meta

