Rev-in’ it Up…Again!

May 31, 2012 § 2 Comments

I always know when my training volume is up because there will be 3 things that happen:

-I have nothing to blog about. There are only so many ways you can spin “so I rode my bike for a really long time” or “my swimming times are somehow 10 seconds slower than usual” to make it interesting to read. Or, make it interesting enough to even write about. So I try to avoid it.

-Canker sores. Directly proportional to the training hours. Terrible.

-I have no sense of the world around me. Facebook went public? Kim and Kanye? What? Okay maybe it’s not that bad, but it may as well be. This was compounded by the fact that this week I have been in NYC for work. So I am doubly disconnected.

But, I am about to make my way back to earth as I do a mini taper for a race this weekend! I am heading to Rev3 Quassy with some others from the tri crew of Baltimore, and I’m excited to get some more racing this season under my belt. And even more excited to get to see the Rev3 family again!

I don’t want you to leave this post without anything informative (though I’m sure you all have been wondering for months my training to canker sore relation), so I’ll give you a couple hints for training in NYC. Usually in NY I would be staying near Central Park, and that was my go-to training ground. That’s not the case this time, though if I had a long run on tap I’m sure I would have still headed to the park. My hotel doesn’t have a gym – but it does offer complimentary passes to NY Racquet & Health clubs. These gyms are all over the city and I went during what I thought would be prime hours yesterday, but it wasn’t bad! I opted to do a hill workout on a treadmill for the first time, and found that I really liked it! Like some of my speed sessions, I find it nice to be able to really control the efforts and all the variables. They also have spin bikes if you needed an easy ride substitute, and there are pools in some locations, though they looked pretty small in some of the pictures. That is why I headed over to the Chinatown YMCA for my swim. It’s an 8 lane, 25 yard pool. Make sure to check the schedule ahead of time for how many lanes will be open for lap swimming. It seems like people respect the lane speed rules which is really nice (i.e. many of the older folks are there doing elementary backstroke, but they didn’t touch the “fast” lanes). All bets are off though if the crowd is confined to 1-2 lanes, and the rules of the road do not seem to apply so I wouldn’t suggest trying to swim during those times! The pool is clean though and the facility is nice. You can go for free for your first visit; after that it’s a $20 day pass.

I am also heading to Babycakes tonight to check it out, which I am sure would be popular among any gluten-free/vegan readers! I will be sure to report back how I liked it!

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Rev-in’ it Up…Again!

  • Conor says:

    yay for vegan food…let me know if it’s good. good luck in Quassy

    • agodesky says:

      Babycakes was awesome! I definitely recommend it if you’re in NYC. Hillary also told me that’s who made her wedding cupcakes, so you know it’s good! 🙂 I had the red velvet cupcake though and looooved it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rev-in’ it Up…Again! at .

meta

