Daytime Hashtags

May 24, 2012 § 6 Comments

1. I learned today that apparently people who run the 800 have big calves. I learned this from the woman giving me a chair massage, as the position of the chair allows for prime calf viewing. Sadly, I had to tell her I was not an 800 runner, my large calves are actually just extensions of my perpetual cankles…..#trigirlprobs.

2. A NON-#trigirlprobs tidbit is here as well: GEL NAIL POLISH. Like most tri-girls, I usually reserve getting my nails done to occasions where I have to (weddings) or pre-race rituals. Either way, the polish is sure to chip off almost immediately due to a pool sesh or bike maintenance. Or just sticking your hand in your purse. Having to explain to your friend that your nails look ridiculous on her wedding day because you chipped it when you had to put the trainer tire back on your bike does *not* go over well. Last week I went to get my nails done for Kelly’s wedding and the man tricked me into this “gel nail polish” idea. I say tricked, because I initially was just like “yeah whatever, I’ll try anything but I don’t believe that this will be any better that the usual stuff.” It is slightly more expensive, but I have to say: totally worth it! This article gives a good run down on the pros and cons of the gel polish, but basically I am a believer.  In the past week since getting my nails done, I have swam 5 times, run a lot, did a really long ride, completed some basic bike maintenance, showered a bajillion times, typed at work…..and yes, my nails are still perfectly in tact. It’s nothing short of amazing.

3. Anyone out there bike commute? I’m looking for pros and cons  of the basket vs. a bag-type pannier….front or rear? Do things bounce out? How do you secure it? What’s the heaviest you’ve ever carried (measurements can come in the form of common items like “gallon of milk” or “small child”….) #BikeCommute

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Daytime Hashtags

  • Adam says:

    Is a standard backpack an option? I’ve been commuting for a while, and it hasn’t really been a problem. I also commute on the same road bike that I train on, so panniers aren’t an option for me.

    Sweating is an issue, but we have showers at work so it’s not bad. GOOD lights are also essential. I have a standard light on the back and a seizure-inducing light on the front (day) which can also be a solid beam if it gets dark.

    • agodesky says:

      Good reminder about the light! I forgot about that aspect. And I am concerned about the sweating issue which is why I’m trying to find another option from a backpack, but it definitely seems like the simplest way! Thanks!

  • Cheryl says:

    I am a bike commuter, but its only 2 miles, just on a townie kind of bike. I have a detours brand handlebar bag, it just hooks on and off the front of the handlebar easily. I can fit all my food for a day, plus stash a light jacket if need be. I also carry my backpack, which is small, its really my purse that I carry all the time, having a backpack is easy for when I ride, and better for my posture all other times. I also have one of those flat racks on the back, with a bungie cord, so I can strap things on. I’ve been able to go to the grocery with this setup and come back with a decent amount of crap.

  • Terry says:

    I bike commute. Luckily it’s right downtown to the court house so I don’t have to go far. And I’m a guy so it is significantly easier for me (or so I’m told). I’ve found that it is much easier to leave stuff in the office. Here is what I do. I have to wear a full suit and tie every day, so I leave my suit jackets hanging behind the door in my office and I have one brown and one black belt in a drawer along with 2 spare ties. I also have a pair of black shoes and a pair of brown shoes.

    I use my Louis Garneau transition bag to bring all my supplies for the day including a t-shirt, my button down, my suit pants, socks, tie, tie clip, and watch. All of it fits folded at the bottom of the bag (and does not get wrinkled in the 20 minutes that it is in there). I also bring my breakfast (if i’m going to the gym before work), lunch, and snacks for the day along with a swim suit if i’m gonna swim or running clothes if I feel like running.

    The bag is big, but I really don’t care about the look of it. Just be careful out there, don’t forget, every person out there is in a huge hurry, more so in the morning, and no one is looking out for you.

    • agodesky says:

      Thanks Terry! I think I have to look into if changing at work will be an option for me. And of course thanks for the reminder to be careful! Luckily I’ll mostly be on quiet roads. PS – Saw you running in the harbor this morning but we couldn’t catch you!! Hope it was a good run!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Daytime Hashtags at .

meta

