Wedding Bells and Chamois Time

May 23, 2012 § 2 Comments

This past weekend was a long one! When you head into a big weekend of training, it’s hard to say how you’re going to feel when the days are done. Add my best friend’s wedding to the mix, and you really are entering the unknown. I am happy to report that I made it through in one piece….

Most importantly from the weekend, Kelly is married! Unlike the movie with Julia Roberts, this day went off without a hitch!

A strapless bridesmaid’s dress isn’t necessarily the number one pick for a triathlete in swim camp (hello, broad shoulders), but some better posture on my part probably would have helped too…

As the newlyweds headed off to a tropical paradise for their honeymoon on Sunday, I also headed off to….a different sort of paradise. I had the pleasure of making my first trip for the year to Leone’s Spring: a cyclist’s paradise. 

Located somewhere along the MD/PA border along the rolling country roads, this is always a fun treat on a long ride. And a long ride it was – I set a new personal distance record of 121 miles….and I did it solo! I won’t get into how long exactly that took me, but let’s just say it was a lot of chamois time…..I’m pretty sure Hillary’s hubby Maik, the GCM himself, would be very proud 🙂

I thought the solitude of such a long day would bother me, but I have to say I was enjoying myself out there. Ironman training is all about taking things step by step. Sometimes that step is a day, sometimes it is as small as a pedal stroke. If you can keep that in mind, you can get through even the longest days. And of course, a little inspiration from the performances of Hillary’s other athletes/friends doesn’t hurt one bit! Well done ladies!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Wedding Bells and Chamois Time

  • katie says:

    I did my long ride (century) mostly alone last weekend too, and I agree – sometimes it’s nice to just be alone with your bike and your thoughts!

  • hillary says:

    GCM is indeed proud. he would have loved it even more if you drove home and then cooked dinner while still in the chamois, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wedding Bells and Chamois Time at .

meta

