Food Update!

May 1, 2012 § 11 Comments

I wanted to update everyone on my progress toward becoming a healthier eater.

There have been some good things. For one, I have done really, really well cutting out the soda. With the exception of a couple cans of Coke that came after/during a long ride or run, I haven’t been drinking much soda at all. The only way this has been somewhat doable, is with NUUN. I like basically any type of flavored sports drink, but having to carry powders around and a bottle to be able to mix them in is just inconvenient enough to keep me from doing it. BUT, stashing tubes of NUUN – totally doable! The Lemon Tea  flavor has been my jam because it has just a little bit of caffeine in it to keep me going through the day. But, the Strawberry Lemonade flave is also to die for.

The candy intake has been better. Trying to start this right around a major influx of Easter candy certainly did not help! But, I have at least gotten myself to the point that when I see candy, I can get away with just a handful, or just a scoop….or whatever. I’ve been able to resist downing an entire family pack of fruit filled-Twizzlers. And my Easter basket lasted more 2 weeks!

Some of my other new staples have been quinoa (which I will forever just pronounce like it’s spelled because for the life of me I can’t see how those letters make keen-wa), potatoes, and sweet potatoes.

Jenni S. also sent me a delicious recipe via Twitter…if it can be said in 140 characters you know it’s easy to make!

Eating more salads is also getting better, as with the fruit intake…but there’s a lot of work to still be done there. But Rome wasn’t built in a day, and neither will my good eating habits.

Friday morning I am leaving for the road trip to Rev3 Knoxville and I have to admit I’m a bit nervous about finding healthier eating options on the road.

Any suggestions or tips for healthy eating while traveling/road trips?

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Food Update!

  • Terry Decker says:

    Bringing food always works for me. Easy meals include rice/beans/cheese burritos (1 cup of uncooked rice = 2.5 cups cooked, add in a can of black beans, taco seasoning packet and place mixture in burrito with cheese and hot sauce = 5-6 burritos), sandwiches, salads (w/o dressing so they don’t get soggy, bring dressing separately), and of course Subway.

  • rachel says:

    Just jumped over from Pacer Dooder Dave’s blog roll and have to say HEY! I’m trying to do the same thing! And man, it’s not easy. I live on candy. Pass me the cadbury mini-eggs, please. But I’m two weeks in and starting to get used to the healthy stuff. I’m cheating though – I am also two weeks in to buying pre-prepped food from a new local company, so they’re doing the hard work, I’m just eating it. And the candy is slowly getting less and less, and I’m liking the green stuff more and more…

    You can totally do it on the road. I find I eat better when I’m out – salads at restaurants, vegged-up sushi in grocery stores… you got this! 🙂

    – rachel in HI

    • agodesky says:

      Thanks rachel! It definitely helps to know I’m not alone trying to fight these candy cravings 🙂

  • So good and funny and I also love (strawberry lemonade) nuun! You are definitely the funny, clever blog twin. 🙂 Bring lots of healthy snacks on your road trip and have fun!

  • Easa says:

    I heard Carlyssa energy bars are super healthy.

  • Jenni says:

    Yay, glad you like the sweet potato hash concoction! I usually can find salads on the road- if you can find a Panera along the way, it’s one of my favorite quick options. You’re doing great- keep it up!

  • katie says:

    I’m making a giant container of quinoa (I’m newly addicted) and almonds to bring with me this weekend. Mmmm.

    Also, I’m going to be doing the practice swim Saturday morning, maybe we can meet up, say oh hello??

  • […] the rest here: Food Update! « alyssa ← Weekly Health Tip: Preventing Obesity in Children « […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Food Update! at .

meta

