Find your Rhythm

April 2, 2012 § 4 Comments

I recently read this article about Marissa Mayer, a VP at Google. As I read this I couldn’t help but imagine these same words coming from any Ironman Champion as they spoke to their fellow athletes at an awards banquet:

“Find your rhythm.”

Find what matters to you and make time for it.

“You can’t have everything you want, but you can have everything that matters to you,” she said.

Mayer said she believes there’s no such thing as burnout — you can work really hard for the rest of your life as long as you know what matters most to you and make sure you get that.

These words are what differentiates the top of the field – in a sport, or in life – and the middle of the pack.

Those words are also the answer to the question you’ll be asked a million times: “Don’t you get sick of it?” (Also can be phrased as: how/why do you do all of that training?)

After reading this article I thought about my answer to that question. The truth is, I am never sick of (literally) running myself into the ground. I’m never sick of having chocolate gel running down my face because I’m too tired to wipe it off. I am not sick of those moments before a race – those 5-10 minutes before the start gun goes off, when you have to learn to make your mind free, clear and focused only on yourself amidst the chaos.  That feeling of embracing the unknown, knowing you did your best in training and now is your chance to execute. No, I don’t get sick of that.

At the end of the day, racing is important to me. I make time to do it, and I make time to prepare myself to be the best I can be for those races. Some people get that – but many do not.

I realize that may not always be my answer. And I realize that there may come a day when racing doesn’t make the list of things I make time for. But for awhile at least, it is.

§ 4 Responses to Find your Rhythm

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Find your Rhythm at .

meta

