Not a Foodie

March 27, 2012 § 8 Comments

I have never been a picky eater. But I have never been a particularly healthy eater, either. Growing up, I learned quickly that chocolate and ice cream taste better than apples and salads. And I stuck with that as a mantra well into adulthood…..aka last week. Having Hillary as a coach undoubtedly puts food on my radar more. Having followed her progress as a triathlete for years now, I have also followed her evolution with diet. Aside from that, it’s pretty much common sense that if you want to be an elite athlete, you have to take care of your body.

Up until now, I have made some feeble attempts to become more aware of what I am eating. But, if I felt like eating crappy food for a day, I did it. I deserved 3 bowls of ice cream when I got up in the morning to swim that day, right? If three Cokes a day got me through my 8 hours of work, then so be it! Why eat a banana when this bag of jellybeans is sitting right here?

While I have had successes in endurance sport with my current diet, I’m no fool: it’s time to make some changes. In fact, that time was probably years ago. But better late than never, right? So, I sent my food log over to coach and will spare you the details, but when her reply includes a line like “once I got over the initial shock…” you  know you have work to do 🙂 Before I got to work though, I had to send Coach some photographic proof that two of my diet staple items do, in fact, actually exist and are currently in my cupboard.

Right off the bat there were some big things we saw I could change. I know the way I work, so I think I can best accomplish this diet improvement with a series of substitutions, some small changes…and a heck of a lot of will power. Hopefully, all of these small changes will eventually equal one big change. My priorities right now are to focus on:

  1. Laying off the sugar. Part of this is working in “good” sweeteners into the diet. Apparently there are alternatives to the mounds of sugar I usually dump into my coffee which taste just as good! I am also limiting my intake of sugary cereals and Coke – this is the most challenging as I had become accustomed to a minimum of 2 Cokes per day. And no more lunch time trips to the grocery store to come back with family size packs of Twizzlers. {Allegedly} Choosing more healthy options will become easier as time goes on – something about my taste buds will trick me into thinking healthy things actually taste good. I’ll believe that when I taste(?) it!
  2. Eating more live things. I ate one salad the week I food logged….and that was partially because in my head I thought “shoot, I’m food logging, I should include something healthy.” The toughest parts for me about eating fruit/veggies are that a) they are confusing to buy (I don’t know what they are like when they are ripe, too ripe, not ripe enough, whatever) and then b) I feel like as soon as I buy them they go bad. Seriously, you know how people say cars are terrible investments because of their depreciation when you drive them off the lot? Well, I’m fairly convinced fruit is way worse. No Dole stock for this girl. Just yesterday I threw out bananas because it turns out that stacking them on top of other grapefruits makes them gross really fast (note: this may or may not be factual, but it is my latest observation). Meanwhile, Carly’s counter-top sitting bananas have looked great and healthy for days. Steep learning curve here people!
  3. Eating more often. As it is, I am a champion snacker. But, I do tend to wait until I’m hungry to snack. And that usually results in bingeing….not the best route, especially when the snacks to this point have been cookies, chips, soda, candy, etc. So, I’m subbing in what I can for healthier options. I like apples when they have peanut butter so that’s a good start. And hummus. And applesauce (even when it doesn’t have sugar.)

One thing I know I will keep in my diet though is dessert. Lucky for me, coach just posted some Hillary-approved options! And I tried out making some Chia Seed Chocolate Pudding the other day. Not my favorite – but it could work in a pinch. The recipe I used was:

 1/4 cup Chia Seeds

3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 heaping tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp brown rice syrup

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Mix ingredients together in a bowl and let sit for 10 minutes. Stir it up, then place in the refrigerator for about an hour to allow it to thicken up. Then enjoy!

For what it’s worth, the recipe says it like that – “enjoy!” ….I would say something more along the lines of “then eat and dream of PR’s to rationalize why you are eating these goopy tasting seeds and pretending it’s as good as ice cream.”

But hey – whatever works. Any other suggestions? Fellow HB-er Laura shouted out the Soda Stream on Twitter today and I have been contemplating getting one – that may be crucial to my ability to reduce the soda intake!

Tagged: , ,

§ 8 Responses to Not a Foodie

  • You may always eat my bananas!! And don’t throw them out if they get “too ripe”. Peel them and then freeze them so you can toss them into post-workout protein shakes!!!

  • Easa says:

    You could eat my Carlyssa energy bars that you made me 6 months ago and never sent!

  • I must say with all the training and what we put our bodies through, nutrition has been the toughest for me. I do follow a strict diet but it is so hard to turn away from the foods I used to eat. I wasn’t a sweets eater, I was more into the salty chips, fatty meats & potatoes, ranch dressing with everything, etc. Oh yeah and salad was a staple in my diet but it had about a gallon of dressing on it. So I have been eating healthier now for about 1 1/2 years and still struggle. I fear though if I do give in once I will go right back. Its tough to eat things that you truly don’t care for, but I have definitely seen improvements with how I feel before and after workouts and in my results. Happy eating.

  • OMG I bet Hillary fell off her chair when she saw the picture of your cereal. 😉 You’ll feel SO MUCH BETTER when you start eating real live whole foods. 🙂

  • katie says:

    Oh man! it is SO HARD to make even little diet changes…I’ve been working on it for 2+ years now. diet coke was the first thing to go and that was hard, but I finally don’t miss it. a soda stream is a good call! and I know this isn’t always possible, but we have a grocery store across the street so we never buy more than 1-2 days worth of produce, because I always used to have the same problem with it going rotten! it just means lots of little annoying trips to the store.

  • Amy M. says:

    My weaknesses are ice cream, cookies, and chips (especially after hard workouts), but I love fruit, especially melons and strawberries and try to eat that as much as possible. Snacking on hummus got old after awhile. I also find salad to be dry and if I buy it at Panera, I usually end up dumping steak chili over it. I think I got lucky in terms of soda and coffee – my mouth feels “dry” after I drink them so I tend to stay away from them. Another favorite of mine – bananas smothered in peanut butter! Yes – it may sound weird, but tastes pretty good (to me at least :). Good luck!

  • Katie says:

    Man, it is hard! I have been trying for months to give up diet coke and I’ve already had one this morning, so clearly not making it very far. Good luck!!

  • […] you remember this post, I have been working to reduce my soda consumption lately. One of the suggestions I received was to […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not a Foodie at .

meta

