I have a lot of Baggage

January 27, 2012 § 9 Comments

Ever wondered what some people could possibly do with all of the bags they acquire going to races? Having built up quite the collection, I’m pretty sure they could do some sort of TLC Hoarders-eque show on me. My name is Alyssa, and I am a Bag Lady.

When I leave the house in the morning, it is indiscernible whether I’m leaving for a day or a month. Carly often gets a confused look on her face as she watches me leave and asks “Did I miss something? Are you going away for a week?” Nope, just a day!

First, I have my work purse. This has all my essentials, from nail polish to gum to a screwdriver (don’t ask). There’s also a ziplock bag with my credit card and license in it: the ultimate cyclist’s wallet. Also inside my purse is another bag. This one doesn’t appear to be a bag at first glance because it’s folded up into a little ball. I keep this bag with me in case I am grocery shopping and want to go green a little bit and put my purchases in this one instead of a plastic one. Just as the hipster behind me is about to be like “Psh, she drives a Tracker and uses plastic? I hope she sees me drive away on my fixie with this tweed satchel and feels bad about herself” I can be like POOF. A environmentally friendly grocery bag. Fooled ya!

Want to guess the number of times I’ve actually remembered that I am carrying this bag that folds up into a ball and used it? Here’s a hint: it rhymes with Beero.

I also throw my lunch bag in here. Bags in bags in bags…..in bags.

Bag count: 4

Then I have my laptop bag for my work computer. Since I’m on call 24/7, this goes with me everywhere. Even into the gym because lord knows I learned my lesson about leaving nice things in the car while I go swim.

Bag count: 5

Then I have my swimming bag. This has my paddles and my pull buoy, my towel, another bathing suit for swim #2, etc. Inside that bag is another bag with my SBR Shampoo/Condish/Body Wash/Lotion (one more bag is totally worth not being itchy and smelling like chlorine all day). A separate bag holds my makeup so I can attempt to cover up goggle marks with a quick swipe of mascara and some bronzer. Then I have a bag of work-appropriate clothes for post swim.

Bag count: 9

Oftentimes I also have to leave from the pool for a run as well. That means I’ll carry another bag, with my running shoes and weather-appropriate running clothing. In that bag will be another bag with my clothes for after the run since I have a fear of sitting in sweaty sports bras for a long time post-workout (weird apprehension about ringworm).

Bag count: 11

If I am going to Ryan’s after work and/or my workout that means another bag with clothes to sleep in. And another bag with work clothes for the next day. And, in case I’m running the next morning, another bag with more running clothes.

Bag count: 14

And finally, so I can make the walk to my car in one trip, I often take my big soft-luggage bag and stuff some of the little bags into it to consolidate.

Bag count: 15

I am addicted to bagging. The madness must stop somewhere.

Tagged: , ,

§ 9 Responses to I have a lot of Baggage

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I have a lot of Baggage at .

meta

