In French, Haley Chura means….

January 20, 2012 § 2 Comments

AWESOME!

Psyche, it doesn’t really.

But seriously guys, she is pretty cool. After having “one of those days”…you know, the kind where you oversleep and proclaim “This is going to be a terrible day!” and then since you enjoy self fulfilling prophecies, it is? I knew better than to remove the coffee pot from under the stream of coffee that was still brewing, but I did it, because it was a bad day and therefore I had to spill coffee. And then I had to delete my report from Microsoft Word before saving it, because yes, it was a bad day and that would confirm it!

But there was a light at the end of the tunnel. I was meeting Haley Chura, my blogger and triathlete friend extraordinaire, in York, PA for dinner! Haley lives in Atlanta, but was in PA for work, and so we decided to meet in the middle. A little background on us…..

Last May, I began reading Haley’s blog after she won Rev3 Knoxville. Then at Eagleman, I swam in her wake and never saw her on the course, as she raced to her Kona spot!! At that point, I knew what I had to do: comment on her blog.

And thus, a beautiful friendship was born.

We were both doing IM Louisville, but still had no plans to meet. Fate had other plans for us though, and despite starting nearly 30 minutes apart due to the time trial start, we found ourselves out along the run course together …sort of, at least. Haley was on her way in from a loop, and I on my way out. In an effort to distract myself from the pure misery I was going through, when I saw her I just blurted out “Hi Haley!!”. Her look of confusion slowly registered as she realized it was just me, and a quick “oh hey!” was exchanged. No better way to feel like you’ve known each other for 10 years than to acknowledge a common moment of suffering. I properly introduced myself the next day at the roll downs, and also met some of her Dynamo Multisport friends (they live up to their name!). Such good people.

When Haley was going to be coming to PA for work, we decided it was time to really catch up. And after a brief hiccup due to the fact that I gave her (and myself) the wrong address, landing us both in the hood-iest-of-hood sections of York, we sat down and had a meal — no GU, no spandex, and no bikes involved! It was super fun to compare schedules for the upcoming year and have someone who understands the highs and lows of this sport to hang out with. And of course, we couldn’t leave without getting a proper picture!

Just kidding! Here we are 🙂 Please note the large tiki (thai?) man who is photo bombing us!

So fun and looking forward to some adventures with Haley in the future!

§ 2 Responses to In French, Haley Chura means….

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In French, Haley Chura means…. at .

meta

