Feet First

January 9, 2012 § 5 Comments

What’s the best way to get into a cold pool at 5:30 am? Jump in feet first, of course.

How do I usually roll? Slowly lower myself in going “ohmygodohmygodihatepoolsohmygod.”

But judging from how Coach Hillary set up my training plan she believes in the feet-first method 🙂  I am back in full swing of things with no time last week to gently ease myself into it. And I have to say, I feel good and all the workouts went really well – so there is something to be said about jumping in feet first.  This is how I did with each of the 3 disciplines:

Swimming: Just a hair over 12 miles on the week! I am measuring my swimming in miles right now because my gym has a “100 miles” competition going. This week I surpassed the 10 mile mark, earning myself a swim cap (that wasn’t ready yet because “they didn’t think anyone would get there that fast!”), and am currently the pool leader for mileage. I am going to hold on tight to this as Ryan and I think there are at least a handful of people who will give me a run for my money in this one. But I have some tricks up my sleeve and big swim days coming yet too.

The bike: This weekend we were lucky enough to have temps up to 67 here in Maryland! And what better way to jump into training on the bike than a good old-fashioned ride on the Columbia course. Andy/Chicken Tender invited me to ride out on the Columbia course with him on Saturday, and I managed to dupe him into 2 hours which meant the lollipop portion of the course twice. In case anyone was wondering….the hills are still there. That course is always a rude awakening and it hit me a little harder than I would have expected, but I had great company and his ride data showed that we were moving at a good clip for the ride. The extra bonus was the 5 miles running off the bike too!

The run:  My stealthy speed work over the holidays is paying off, evidenced by Friday morning’s workout. The Shrimp ‘n’ Grits 5K is this weekend in Charleston and I’m looking forward to see where I’m at.

Beautiful sunrise == reward for Friday's early speed sesh!

And for the first long run of 2012, what do you get?? SEVEN ladies meeting on Sunday morning for the run! It was a great turnout and I’m pretty excited to keep this attendance up. As I learned last year, the best way to get faster is to run faster…and that’s most easily accomplished in a group. While not everyone is running too long yet, the reward for sticking out the whole thing was lunch at the Grilled Cheese Company in Federal Hill. YUM!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Feet First

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Feet First at .

meta

