Small Talk, Work and the Weather

December 9, 2011 § 1 Comment

That title really has nothing to do with this post but I was searching high and low for Taylor Swift lyrics to use that were appropriate and came up short. But clearly that didn’t stop me from using some lyrics nonetheless.

As I have been finalizing my preparations for Hellgate tomorrow night, I realized I am more excited than I thought I was. I have been missing shoving 30 GUs into ziplock bags to eat over 15 hours. I have been missing getting updates from the race director that include lines like: “There will be only water at Aid Station 1. If you need more than that, you should stay at home.” and “Do NOT call the rescue squads or 911.” I have missed having to prep my crews for what will inevitably be The. Longest. Day. Ever.

The weather forecast looks GREAT and I’m not going to say it out loud, but ____________. (Sorry, can’t even type it, don’t want to curse it!) It will still be chilly though and given the indian summer we’ve had in Baltimore allowing me to run in shorts and a t-shirt up through last weekend, I felt like I needed to acclimate to the cold. So tonight I will be sleeping here:

JUST KIDDING, MOM! I’m not really sleeping on the roof.

Anyway I will be bib number #104. If Ryan and Carly have any cell service they will tweet some updates throughout the race (@rmcgrath732 and @cannepa)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Small Talk, Work and the Weather

  • Ryan McGrath says:

    Service? Chyeah, right, and monkeys MIGHT fly out of my butt. Guarantee my phone stops working before we’re even out of MD.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Small Talk, Work and the Weather at .

meta

