Next stop: Vegas please!

September 7, 2011 § 2 Comments

"Gonna sell my car and go to Vegas
'Cause somebody told me
That's where dreams would be
Gonna sell my car and go to Vegas
Finally see my name upon the Palace marquis"

-Sara Bareilles, Vegas


So, apparently 2 whole weeks have flown by and once again I find myself packing up and heading out for a race! This time I am hopping on a plane out to Vegas for the IM 70.3 World Championships. Two years ago I was able to qualify for Clearwater, and I think that it was a very different experience than what I anticipate seeing out in Vegas. Clearwater was a huge party. It was the last race of the season for everyone, it was a flat, fast and easy course in favorable conditions. Most people appeared to be on vacation first, and came to race second.

Moving the race to Vegas - a very challenging course - and up to September, means that people are right in the middle of their racing season. Many pros - and potentially many age groupers as well! - will be using this as a last tune up effort for Kona in 4 weeks. While I have no doubt there will be a quite a party afterwards, I do believe the atmosphere will be business first, play second.

Regardless, I am excited to get out there and see what my legs have in them 2 weeks after an Ironman. As I rode with Ryan last week he pointed out that this is the first time I've ever gotten back into the pool, and back onto a bike, within any sort of reasonable time of an Ironman. Let's see what I can do!

§ 2 Responses to Next stop: Vegas please!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Next stop: Vegas please! at .

meta

