Girl Power

August 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

I was going to do a QOTD for some inspiration prior to the weekend, but when I got to searching I decided to post on something that is way more than just a quote. On July 31, Jennifer Pharr Davis broke the record for the best time traveling the length of the Appalachian Trail. Jennifer’s time of 46 days, 11 hours and 20 minutes bests any other time set by a male or female, by over a day. She averaged just about 47 miles a day.

47 miles.

A day.

For 46 days.

I consider myself an endurance athlete. Part of that is that I thrive on consistency, on the tough days, on days when all I can do is shake my head and look at the (now faded) reminder I wrote to myself on my bathroom mirror to “Get Tough.” I need long days of hard efforts to break me down and build me back up. To get me ready for the races that will require more time than a day of “regular” work for me. But that consistency is something I still struggle with. It’s a funny thing. On one hand, I like hard day after hard day, because I get into a routine and I just….do. Not much thinking, just doing. On the other hand though, day after day builds up until eventually it overflows. The overflow may come in the form of a negative attitude. It may come out as being stressed about what I’m going to wear that day. It may come out in tears because I am stuck in traffic (crazy, right?!).

I can only relate to the most minor of the struggles that Jennifer had to endure to complete this, and I can honestly say I am in complete awe of her.  The Appalachian Trail is a beautiful and breaktaking place. My self-proclaimed favorite spot in the world can be found on that trail. But even then, 46 days of attacking the trail to get as far as you can within each hour, just seems unfathomable.

I hope to find within myself some of the strength that Jennifer has as I continue to pursue my own AT this year – the ironman 🙂

You can read about Jennifer’s record breaking run on her blog here. The entries were documented by her husband, Brew, and are really thorough and a fantastic look into the highs and lows of such a feat. I would recommend finding time to sit down and start at the beginning – you won’t regret it!

In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.

-John Muir

§ One Response to Girl Power

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Girl Power at .

meta

