When the going gets tough….

August 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

The tough stop blogging 😦 I do apologize for my lack of blogging as of late – but I hope you understand that my peak training weeks + the murphy’s law of work being busy these weeks + attempting to maintain some sort of sanity leaves me far far away from my computer in the evenings when I’d blog. In an effort to keep you up to date I have compiled a miscellaneous list of thoughts and awesomeness for your reading pleasure….

-I love unexpected sources of water. Two of these happen to fall on rides we frequent in the Baltimore area. The first, the Leone Family Spring is located about 50 miles away. The water is always super cold and super fresh. When we went by on Saturday, there was a poster advertising an escaped goat. He looked pretty much like what you’d expect a goat to look like, so if you’re in the Glen Rock area and see a wandering goat, you can get a reward for returning it!

My other fav unexpected water source is on Bellemore Road. At the top of a mile long steep climb, a family on the road keeps this fountain running. It’s not really cold, but water is water and it may be just what you need to get you the final 7.5 miles home to the city.

– I ride with dudes a lot, and its awesome. Despite the times I want to tell them to slow down. Despite the times it’s rainy and their tire juice sprays all over me for miles and miles. Despite the times I have to deal with them farting in my face as I sit on their wheel.  Having guys that allow me to tag along and draft (aka “audit”) their rides has made me the cyclist that I am becoming!

-I ordered some Picky Bars today, and I’m quite excited for them to arrive!

-One of my favorite races of the year is this weekend – the Luray International Triathlon. Ryan and I first did this race back in ’08…I placed in my age group and recieved a wine glass. Then last year I did the sprint and the olympic distance and received a wine glass for my place in both of those, and another for doing the double weekend! I hope to continue the tradition this year. We have a cabin for the weekend and will be doing our respective rides on Skyline Drive on Sunday, so if you have any tips or inside info on Skyline (food, water, which direction is best) please leave it in the comments! We will be entering from the Luray area. I am hoping for some great weather and great views as a cabin in the mountains is heaven for me!

-Amelia Bedelia loves to knock over cups. They are usually full. It is not funny.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When the going gets tough…. at .

meta

