The Goose is Getting Fat

June 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

I haven’t had much of a chance to breathe lately – between work, training, and a trip up to NYC to see my sister things have been quite busy in the world of Alyssa. As I hunker down for my next training block and continue to grind through the days I am reminded of the important of the little things that keep me going….
 
These things are the bomb. I haven’t had one since my grandmother stopped sending them in my care packages when I was in college, but a quick google search leaves me to believe they do still exist and I may even find them at my local drug store.
 
2.  Not taking myself anything too seriously. This morning I cooled off after mile repeats using a grimey baltimore fountain (granted it is in the apartment complex where Tom Clancey resides on occasion). It was gross. But it was necessary, and it was funny.  I also like to hear nerdy jokes to keep me laughing….A photon checks into a hotel and the bellhop asks if he needs help with his luggage, to which the photon replies….No its ok im traveling light. In addition to nerd jokes I also enjoy what I call “dad” jokes…these are generally found on the back of laffy taffy wrappers.
 
3.  Friends. My friends are a huge chunk of the pie that keeps me motivated day after day. But instead of blowing up their spot all over the interwebs I will display my fake friends instead. 
Yes, that’s right, I said it. And I know you know what I’m talking about. Who has never been like “oh yeah, after work I’m just gonna hang out with Taylor for a bit and rock out in my car.” Or maybe, “I’m just gonna stay home tonight and watch a track meet. My <cough>fake<cough> friend Erin Donohue is running.” No? How about, “oh yeah Chelsea made me laugh so much last night that my wine came out my nose!”
 
Note:  Fake friends in order left-to-right in the above photo (crazy how all 8 of us were together on one magical day!): Jimmy Fallon, Erin Donohue, Taylor Swift, Guy Fieri (who wouldn’t want a friend that will think of fun games to play that only take a minute), Chelsea Handler, Ashton Kutcher (Enough said. And I like cameras.), Myself, Evelyn from the MTV Challenge show (she’d be a fun friend to play Guys’ challenges against!).
 
4. Sponsors. Yes, this is a shameless little plug for those companies who do their part in helping keep me going. Regardless, I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t mean it. The Oiselle Iris Sport Top is one of my favorite peices this summer. It’s SO soft and comfortable, and doesn’t get insanely heavy and gross when you sweat like a man.  And after my run this morning I found out that the Marseille shorts are also great for high humidity runs. Despite looking like I got out of a pool (well, I was in a fountain), the shorts didn’t chafe or give me any issue once they were drenched. The inside lining is also really soft I swear it’s made of clouds…….and they’re on sale right now!
 
When I got home I replenished the buckets of fluid I lost with some NUUN Strawberry Lemonade. If you haven’t already tried this new flavor, you are missing out. It’s like a cotton-candy-lemonade-strawberry-shortcake-snowball-goodness drink. In fact, they e-mailed me and said that was what they were going to call it, but only Strawberry Lemonade fits on the tube.
 
And finally, a huge shoutout to Eric with SmartBikeParts.com who recently made my experience purchasing a Speedsuit (watch out world I’m gonna rock the L-Ville swim) super awesome.
Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Goose is Getting Fat at .

meta

