>Things I have learned

May 5, 2011 § 3 Comments

>I have now been under the tutelage of Hillary Biscay for a whole 3 months, and in this time I have learned many things. I have come up with a few of the lessons for your reading pleasure:

1. After a particularly good swim workout one day, I reported back to HB my times. Great! She wrote back. “still SCMETERS right?” After reading this I had 2 questions. One, why did she yell that one word at me? And two, what is a scmeter? So, I did what anyone would do – I googled it. This wasn’t super helpful at first as I didn’t think she was asking me if I was using a adapter cap. Somewhere down in the goggle search though I at least turned up some videos of swim meets, so I knew I was on the right track. My second option was to ask the one person who seems to have an endless repertoire of random knowledge – Ryan. And sure enough, I got my answer: Short Course Meters. Ah-ha.

2. Do not eat an entire big bag of Twizzlers (the kind with the filling inside, even though they are super tasty) and half a bag of mini Reese’s cups within 24 hours of an important workout. It will end in tears in the pool. And having to basically walk 2 miles back to your car after the run.

3. Running fast makes you run fast.

4. Riding bikes is fun. Especially when you get faster. And when you beat the boys.

5. (Coach if you’re reading this please avert your eyes) Swimming is okay. Sometimes. Like every third Thursday of the month when there’s a full moon.
6. I’m with The Band. Not this one.
7. And perhaps my most favorite HB lesson of all: Looking good == feeling good == racing fast.
§ 3 Responses to >Things I have learned

  • Courtney says:

    >In addition to Twizzlers…eating an entire bag a Starburst and then trying to run with OJ = vomiting on the side of the road and lots of tears while he laughs hysterically!

  • RM says:

    >Courtney – this is funny because on Wednesday OJ mentioned this EXACT situation (that you eat tons of Starburst)

  • alyssa says:

    >Hilarious. And more importantly Courtney – are you coming to the beer mile?! With this history of throwing up on the run I think my odds just went up……

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Things I have learned at .

meta

