>Yeah I’m sorry, I can’t afford a Ferrari

February 17, 2011 § 1 Comment

>

Dear Baltimore,
I’m sorry for getting so mad at you this weekend. I hope you will forgive me, and allow me to live harmoniously in the Greatest City in America.
xo,
Alyssa

Now, let me explain. The short version of the story is that on Saturday, my car was broken into and this time my work computer and wallet were stolen. Thus, the list of items that have been robbed from me grows. As I looked back on the list, which ranges from a laptop and a tri bike to a pair of used running shoes, I was angered by the fact that it’s not even like I can’t have nice things – I just can’t have any things.

I was not happy with the city on Saturday. Not a single part of it. And I feel that this is rightfully so. But, as they usually do, the tides turned and yesterday I drove down I-83, taking all my secret shortcuts through downtown, enjoying a nice sunset and a 50 degree day with the windows down and Beast of Burden playing in the car. I realized once again how much I enjoy Baltimore. I feel a sense of ownership over the city. And no, it’s not because I am a home owner. And it’s not because I go to Mother’s for the Ravens games (because I don’t). It’s not because I’ll live here for a few years while I work or go to school. It’s because this is my home, and it always has been.

Baltimore belongs to me because I can remember winters filled with ice skating on Rash field. I can remember getting elbowed in the face as a child while I sat in Federal Hill park watching the 4th of July fireworks. I went to Orioles games with my Dad before I was old enough to get the giveaways that they were giving out, and when Brady Anderson was super dreamy. Baltimore, to me, is sneaking into the Baja Beach Club to see O.A.R. before anyone knew who they were. It was going to Have a Nice Day Cafe when I was in high school and thinking I was super cool. It’s remembering the day I didn’t go to school because I went to the Raven’s parade instead after the Superbowl. It’s Senior Prom at the Hyatt. It’s the afterparty at a friend’s house in Pigtown. It’s going to Mad River when I was able to escape from school in Annapolis and then one day realizing that’s not cool. I grew up here. This is my home.

So, Baltimore, I do love you. But on Saturday, I didn’t like you very much.

§ One Response to >Yeah I’m sorry, I can’t afford a Ferrari

  • Scatman says:

    >Car break in's suck! If they aren't bad enough, getting screwed by insurance is worse. I had mine broken into and it was more cost effective NOT to replace what I lost.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Yeah I’m sorry, I can’t afford a Ferrari at .

meta

