>Ch Ch Ch Changes!

February 8, 2011 § 3 Comments

>So week one of being a real life triathlete is done. It’s definitely different. In the past, I just ran. Like, literally. Some days I had a plan, some days I didn’t. In the end I just wanted to get as many miles as I could in. Now I have workouts almost every day. I have a plan within each plan. I have more accountability than I have had in many years of competition. And, I like it. I think it’s good for me. The structure that has come from Hillary’s plan has already forced me to get all my ducks in a row, to say the least. It has forced me to be honest with myself about what will affect my training. It forces me to really look at my priorities. The great part is that Hillary has been there from Day Negative 15 (2 weeks before I “officially” started any sort of training plan, she was already touching base, getting to know me better, getting to know who I am). This honesty is something I’m not necessarily used to, but I think it’s something that I need right now. I think that has been what has caused me to shy away from triathlon coaches in the past. I can’t imagine myself telling the people I contacted in years past as potential coaches all of the things Hillary knows. But, it’s all part of the deal.
On a lighter note, here’s a few pros/cons of being a triathlete so far:
-Pro: I was able to add another seat in my living room.

-Con: The new seat is narrow and hard. And why hasn’t anyone invented warming Chamois butter yet? That shiz is cold!

-Pro: My apple bottom is shrinking.
-Con: My arms are going to get huge and manly from swimming.

-Pro: Amelia likes that I can do more of my training at home.
-Con: She’s crazy, and that just means I have to spend more time picking up the cups she knocks over.

-Pro: I sleep better, because swimming makes me so darn tired.
-Con: I sleep better, so I never want to get out of bed.

-Pro: Biking more means being strong enough to ride with the dudes. And ride well.
-Con: Swimming more means getting whooped by the 11 year olds at swim team in the lanes next to me.

§ 3 Responses to >Ch Ch Ch Changes!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Ch Ch Ch Changes! at .

meta

