>FAQ

January 15, 2011 § 4 Comments

>

“So…Are you nervous?”

Ummm….Was Sister, Sister a sweet show? Is it okay to use your finger to get a scoop of Cool Whip from the container but it feels a little gross to watch someone else do it?

Heck yes I am nervous! I am about to try to do one activity for potentially up to 36 hours. I am about to run 100 miles. There are alot of things I can fake my way through; this is not one of them. To give perspective about how nervous I am, as Ryan dropped me at the airport the other day, I was literally word vomiting ridiculous things and reasons why I should not go. Including: I think I’ve missed my flight, I can’t go.

Crazy right? But, I have come to embrace my nerves and realize that as long as I can keep them in check enough to get me on the plane and to the starting line, they are a good thing for the race. Nerves keep me from being too school for cool, as Pink may say. They will keep reminding me that even though its 100 miles, it is still a race. They will also remind me to stick to my plan, and not get sucked into anyone else’s race.

Additionally, as nervous as I am, I know deep down that I am ready. I know that I will put forth my best effort, because that’s what I do. And whether that’s a 27 hour race, or a 35 hour race, I’ll give it my all.

Because, while this is nice:

……That’s not what I’m here for.

Track me live throughout the race at:  http://www.ultralive.net/hurt100/webcast.php

§ 4 Responses to >FAQ

  • Alex says:

    >Proud of you! You are amazing! Can't wait to see how you do!

  • Fat and Slow says:

    >Alyssa was spotted at Paradise Park at around 7:40 give or take 5 minutes. She was in good spirits, mentioned how humid it is, and didn't stick around too long. My guess is that she hits AS #2 at 9:15 give or take 10 minutes. Everyone else looked pretty chipper, some reported better than expected trail conditions, but all were completely soaked, just like I was on Thursday. The weather in manoa is absolutely perfect today, clear skies, calm wind, not hot, not cold, just right.

  • Kelly says:

    >Yeah! We're following you and so pumped for you!

  • RM says:

    >Is that Kelly Bugg following online AND posting on the blog?? Awesome!Currently on last lap of the day, 2nd place Female and 9th place overall. Anticipated time of arrival is probably just a shade over 30 hours at this current rate of speed, and that means likely just after 5pm EST.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >FAQ at .

meta

