>FAQ

December 21, 2010 § 4 Comments

>I get a lot of questions when I talk to people about what I do. And that’s okay – I enjoy telling people about ultrarunning and endurance sports. But one of the things that always gets to me when I answer these questions is that I feel like the people asking them are looking for some deep, soul searching answers. One of the most common questions is “what do you think about during all that time you’re running?” I don’t know what answer would prompt any intrigue or excitement, but usually my answer is “nothing, really.” Or maybe, “putting one foot in front of the other.” I am then met with a look of disappointment by the person, as if they were expecting something greater. And while those are true answers, I suppose I do think about some things. So during the 9 hours I spent running this weekend I made note of the things I thought about:
-What is a Sharona?
-Man, has Avril Lavigne put out any new jams lately? These old ones are dope.
-Who sings this song? …oh, Avril again.
-Why does my iPod only play Avril Lavigne and Daniel Powter when it’s on shuffle mode?
– I wonder if this guy is going to tell on me for trespassing.
-I wonder if I will get shot by a hunter today.
-Oh my god there’s a bear!
-I just saw my first bear.
-Why isn’t that bear hibernating?
-Where is that bear’s mother?
-Man my legs are tired.
-I’m hungry.
-If I could eat anything right now it’d be a cheeseburger from Fudruckers.
-Does Fudruckers even still exist?
-Where are these hikers coming from?
-I need to buy a megamillions ticket.
-Man this pack weighs alot.
-I should drink more to make it weigh less.
-Now I really have to pee.
-There is nowhere to hide in the woods in the winter when you have to pee.
-Hahaha: yellow snow.
-How can I possibly sweat this much when it’s so cold.
-I wonder if anyone still has Kid Pix on their computer.
-I should probably think about something deep and thoughtful now, to impress people.
-Hmm…deep and thoughtful. World Peace.
-North Korea?
-Haiti?
-Carly said interesting things about diseases the other day when I ran with her. Maybe that’s something deep.
-It would be weird if you could give people diseases without having them yourself.
-I would give ____ shingles or something gross.
-Boom boom pow.
-Ouch.
-Vanilla gingerbread GU tastes like Christmas.
-I wonder what I would say tastes like Hanukkah.
-Almost done
-Woop woop
-Maybe I’ll try to run up this whole climb since it’s the last one of the day.
-Yep, maybe not.

You get the picture. While ultrarunning does offer you the time to do some soul searching, that’s certainly not what it’s all about for me. For the most part, it really is just about the run.

§ 4 Responses to >FAQ

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >FAQ at .

meta

