>It’ll Get Worse

December 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

>My parents have always been two of my biggest fans. They have also given me some of the most useless advice during my races:

Mom: Good job Alyssa. How do you feel?
Alyssa: Not so good. My stomach is a little iffy right now.
Mom: It’s okay to quit if you want to.

Dad: How do you feel?
Alyssa: Not so good. I’m not sure my legs are gonna hold up.
Dad: Well, it’ll only get worse.

My parents’ words were ringing in my ears this week. While I am feeling good physically, mentally the winter is tough. I don’t want to get out of bed. I don’t want to drive 2 hours to run 5-6 hours in freezing temps. My mind wants to just hibernate and watch Jerry McGuire and Princess Bride all day. I was able to drag myself out for each run this weekend, and still, everything just seemed to get worse.

Saturday’s 50K was so cold my straw from my nathan pack froze and I couldnt drink until over 11 miles into the run. Then I fell, twice, in the Do Loop and got a hole in the knee of my last pair of running tights that didn’t have holes in the knee already. It scraped me up pretty good and I cut my intended run a little short. Sunday was just as cold, oh and it was pouring rain. Foggy and icy, I knew it’d be a long day. It also just looked super spooky up in the mountains:

The rain made the little icicles from the tree branches that fell on my head for 3.5 hours. The rocks were slippery and I couldn’t make good time. And I was cold. And wet. And lonely.

On my last repeat on Sunday I was making good time trying to fly recklessly down the mountain in hopes that I could make my run all of 30 seconds shorter than if I took my time and ran carefully. I hit a log that was set up to make a step along the climb and before I even realized what happened my leg slid down the log, my other leg reached out to catch me but only found air, and boom, there I was, sitting on a log. Listening to the soundtrack of Rent on my iPod. After looking back up the mountain to ensure no one saw the embarassing feat I just managed, there was only one option: to laugh. And just like that, the spell was broken.

So yes, it will get worse.
But then it will get better.
And this is what I came for.

12/6 – Easy 8.5 miles, 75 minutes
12/7 – 10 miles with 4×2 mile repeats, 85 minutes
12/8 – Easy 7.5 miles, 1 hour
12/9 – 15 miles, 2 hours
12/10 – Easy 8.5, 75 minutes
12/11 – MGM 50K, 5 hours 40 minutes
12/12 – Hill repeats, 3x30minutes, 3 hours 20 minutes, 15 miles

Totals: 95.5 miles, 14 hours 55 minutes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >It’ll Get Worse at .

meta

