>Week 1

April 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

>I generally don’t write all that much about my training, and I think that’s generally because I usually just run, bike, or swim…a lot. But, in an effort to do well at OD, I am doing more specific workouts the next 6 or so weeks to get ready. So I probably won’t detail them too much, but I’ll outline what I do:
4/19 – Easy 7.5 miles, 1 hour
4/20 – 15 miles; 6×7:30 in the middle; 2 hours
4/21 – 10 miles; 4x15min + w/u and c/d; 1:20
4/22 – Easy 7.5 miles, 1 hour
4/23 – 15 miles; 3×20 min hill workout; 2 hours
4/25 – 31 miles; 5 miles easy, trail marathon (race); 42 min+4:31 race = 5:13

Totals: 86 miles; 12 hours 33 minutes

Not bad. My legs took the increase in mileage really well. My strongest workout was the hills….I went out to Loch Raven Resovoir and clocked the hill from the bottom of Loch Raven Dr to the tippy top of Providence Rd to be 2.5 miles. I parked at the top and jogged down 20 minutes….turned around and ran back up in just *under* 20 minutes. Same thing twice more. The second run up was ~30 seconds slower than my run down, and my third was ~1 minute slower. So obviously good effort, and I held up well. That was Friday evening, and less than 12 hours later I was in Newark, DE for the Trail Dawgs Triple Crown Trail Marathon.  I needed to do at least 30 miles for the day, so I got there early to put in 5 beforehand. As I was lining up for the race, I saw that Nate, my marathon coach from USNA was running too! He was coming off of Boston this week, so neither of us were quite sure what the day would hold. I started out conservative, which was helped by the fact that the half-marathon starts 10 minutes ahead, so soon enough you are caught behind the slower half runners (sidebar rant for a second….if you are a back of the pack runner in a trail race, do NOT wear headphones. I don’t mind politely asking for a good place to pass and hanging out behind for a minute, but when I ask 2-3 times for some room but you can’t hear me bcause you’re jamming to Nickleback, it makes me want to push you in the river.)

Anyway, I came through the first loop in about 2:10 or so. Melissa, Brennan, Ryan & Meghan McGrath were all out there cheering for me (awesome surprise to see you guys, thanks again! And big shoutout to MEL who WON the 10K which she ran pretty spur of the moment on their way to Philly to watch others at Penn Relays….) Look how happy I was to see them!

Anyway, I grabbed some snacks and went out on loop two. The trails here were great – very runnable and well kept. I had a good time going the whole time (also thanks to the man at the aid station with the cold washcloths…that was awesome!!)

When I got to the final river crossing though I knew the day was beginning to take its toll as about 2 steps into the water I lost my balance and kerplunked in the water. The men I was running with did a good job of not laughing. But as I was getting up, I looked back and saw another girl. Shoot! I had managed to go all day holding 4th place and was able to keep racing out of my mind for the sake of having a good strong run. But 2.5 miles from the finish? Hell no! So I turned the wheels on and started pushing. About 3/4 of a mile from the finish, I saw a figure decked out in gold ahead of me….walking. Was that an N* on his back? Ha! I caught Nate! I yelled up to him “You better not let me catch you!!” to which he turned around and said some choice words. I caught him and we pushed each other up the last few hills and into the field where we finish. As we were sprinting in to try to beat each other, he turned to me and laughed and said “hey, just like old times at practice eh?” So that was pretty cool. It’s nice to race up North because it’s definitely a different crowd and kind of nice when I don’t know anyone else. But, it’s also nice to have a familiar face or two.

Anyway, I hopped in the car after grabbing a burger and headed home. My legs felt good, but my left foot has been killing me today. I am blaming the Brooks Cascadia trail shoes I tried out….which also turned to cement blocks on my feet after getting them wet. So yeah, sorry Brooks, not a fan.

Now it’s time to rest up for Week Dos…..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Week 1 at .

meta

