>Goals Schmoals

December 26, 2009 § 4 Comments

>I am a big believer in goals. I think that quantifying what you want, visualizing it, and mostly just having that goal stare you in the face everyday will help you get there. Not that I’m discounting the hard work, but seeing it every day really is a big motivator. When I was trying to qualify for Boston with my first marathon, I had the time “3:40” taped up just about anywhere imaginable (well, considering I was at the Naval Academy that was like 2 places otherwise I got in trouble) so I would see it several times a day. By the time the marathon rolled around, the number didn’t scare me; I was prepared, and I believed that I would do it…..and I did.

TWSS also values goals, and at our awards night each December we write them on little notecards that Ryan saves for us to look back on at the end of the year. Interestingly enough, I was pretty far from most of my goals for last year. But, that is okay. I aimed high, and I missed – but that doesn’t mean I didn’t do some sweet things.

For 2010 I set myself some pretty lofty goals again. They are:
-Overall Female Winner at 3 Days of Syllamo (March)
-Overall Winner at Old Dominion 100 Mile
-Sub 10:45 at Ironman Wisconsin
-Sub 3:30 Marathon
-Sub 8 at JFK

Looking at these, I may very well be setting myself up for failure to meet them once again this year. But I’ll do my best to get there. There are a couple major changes I’ll be making training-wise to reach these goals. One, I am going to work closely again with Francesca Conte to coach me through OD 100. She coached me through GEER and I know that it significantly improved my performace. After that, I still was using her as a coach and mentor, just not as seriously (my focus was the IM). I know that she can get me into the shape I need to be in to be able to beat the whole field at that 100. Even without a win, I would like to see how well I can do at OD, get my confidence up a bit for 100’s, and then in 2011 go for a bigger race.

Because I will be following her training plan seriously, I want to hold myself more accountable for my training. My training logs have also taken the backseat since GEER. I will hopefully use this blog and another online tracker to keep track of my mileage and training. To get ready for both the 100 and the IM, every mile and every minute will count, and I don’t want to cheat myself.

The Ironman is probably my loftiest goal out there. To get there, it’s pretty simple: I need to swim, bike and run like the baller I know I am.  1:15/5:50/3:40. Boom.

For the marathon, going sub-3:30 has been a long time coming for me. I know I can do it. Heck, I know I could run a 3:20. It’s just a matter of making myself run faster when I train. Running faster is something I can do. I don’t neccessarily like it – but to get to my other goals I will have to do it. The plan for that is to run a half in March to get a time that automatically enters me in the NYC Marathon. If that happens, I will run NYC, skip JFK, and then run Hellgate 100K in December. If it doesn’t happen, I will decide between JFK and Mt. Masochist as a 50 miler for November.

Only 4 more days till the training cycles begin!

§ 4 Responses to >Goals Schmoals

  • Collin says:

    >Wait, are you looking for overall winner or overall female winner at Old Dominion? They always get a couple totally sick men's runners there, so you'd have to have like an ultrarunning women's performance of the year to flat out win and beat all the men. I won't be back this year with Western on the schedule, but I need to go back and get my buckle in 2011. I started this race in 2008, but wasn't in shape at all to be running a 100 and eventually passed out and had to drop out after 81 miles. Just make sure you spend a lot of time sitting in the sauna beforehand. Not only is it hot, but it's incredibly humid too, so this race will just sap your energy if you're not incredibly well prepped.

  • alyssa says:

    >ok so i deleted my last comment because I decided it was mean. All I will say is I resent the fact that you doubt my ballerness.

  • Jen says:

    >He's just jealous he won't ever get an overall win at a race like that.

  • cgb says:

    >goddamnitsomuch collin stop being such a debbie downer all the time.pissing me off…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Goals Schmoals at .

meta

