>For every 99 times

November 27, 2009 § Leave a comment

>Well, my race season didn’t quite end as expected. No one really wants to go out on a low, especially not a DNF. But in an effort to not be like anyone else, I went ahead and did that for 2009. Last Saturday I went out to JFK attempting…no, expecting….my fifth finish on that course. Everything went as planned. In fact, the race was going better than planned. I was slightly ahead of pace at mile 9.4 and felt great through the end of the trail section. In fact, I’ve never felt so good on that course before, ever. I was able to run with Frannie and Gill (Charlottesville Running Company/Bad to the Bone) for a bit on the trail which was a good time. I stuck to my nutrition plan, felt great, and hit the towpath in 10th place female.

Within 2 miles on the towpath, I knew it wasn’t my day. My legs were simply tired. Although I managed to stay on pace through mile 27, it was taking twice as much effort as it should have been. Slowly, the wheels started to come off the wagon. Not only my legs were tired, but I was sleepy tired, my stomach started acting up, etc…..I had been beat mentally. I took a little time at mile 27. What was I doing? I had just raced an awesome race last weekend. I had come to this race for no other reason than I paid the money to do it and I wanted a 5th year finish so entering would be easier in the future. Long story short, I weighed my options, and decided that the strain on my body just wasn’t going to be worth it. Besides, I had a pretty exciting race with the leaders I wanted to catch up to to see. Not to mention Ben was running his first 50 mile – and was going pretty darn quick. So, I hopped in the car with my parents and headed to the finish line. I got to see some pretty good looking and quick dudes finish, plus BEN did an amazing job finishing 8th overall!!!! Claire also finished her first 50 mile that day with a solid time under 10.5 hours!

Looking back, of course I have the lingering thoughts of “maybe I should have stuck it out.” When I get these, I force myself to look at the positives from the year: Winning Seneca Greenway 50K, a 50K PR at Holiday Lake, WESTERN STATES! age group win, IM Louisville finish, and of course my trip to Clearwater. It’s no wonder I was just plain tired.

Looking ahead, my spring season will be pretty light racing wise, but I will be training pretty heavily for my big 3 next year: 3 Days of Syllamo, Old Dominion 100, and IM Wisconsin. As per Coach Frannie’s request, I will be taking the rest of the year off of serious training, so I am ready to go for next year.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >For every 99 times at .

meta

