>Prov Seventy Point Three

July 18, 2009 § 1 Comment

>

Last weekend I raced the Ironman Rhode Islandm 70.3 in Providence, RI. As soon as I got to the Providence area on Sunday, I remembered why this race was such a pain last year: lots of driving. Up to Prov for a race packet, down to Roger Wheeler State Beach to drop off the bike, up to Warwick for dinner/hotel. Finally its back to Roger Wheeler in the morning. Sunday morning was cold and windy. Windy is never a good thing at a swim start for me. Especially when it’s so windy they postponed the start about 30 minutes to fix the bouys, and they added a bike-run race option for those who were too nervous to swim. The nerves were there, but I lined up for the beach-start, and sprinted into the water with the rest of the 18-29 year old women. I made it over the first few breakers and saw people dolphin diving and starting to swim, so I followed suit. However, I soon found myself getting slammed by some waves and getting nowhere. For the first time, I actually found myself somewhat freaking out. The only thing left to do was to put my head down and get myself out past the breakers. I managed to get pretty far wide of the course by the time I was settled, but I quickly worked with the rhythm of the waves to get into a groove. The return trip was much easier, letting the swells push me forward. Odds are the swim was a bit short, but either way I swam a 34:xx which was long enough for me. Finally out of the water and onto land.

I love the first few miles of this bike course. Fast and down by the water, I felt great. What hundred miles? I was thinking. Haha, oh how soon things change. The overcast and cool weather was quickly giving way to a hot day. The middle of the bike course is hilly, and the end this year was challenging in that we had to battle numerous railroad tracks, traffic, and a few good hills. However, it wasn’t the hills or the railroad tracks that was getting to me. It was the fact that in the last 10 miles of the ride, I felt like mini steamrollers were attached to each of my quads and rolling over them. There was no way around it: my legs were shot. I kept putting the questions to the back of my head: did I have anything left for the run?

Both of my transitions actually went really well this race, and I hit the run looking strong. That lasted maybe a half mile to “the hill.” If you’ve ever been in Providence you know the hill that I’m talking about. That hill seemed to suck all of the life out of me, and from then on it was aid station to aid station, mind over matter, forcing myself to just keep putting one foot in front of the other. Had I had fresh legs and run the same (or close) as Eagleman, I would have been on my way to a 3: 25 and a 10 minute PR for the course. Instead, I was struggling to get those 13 miles in under 2 hours for any sort of PR. The sun was in full force, and the temps were at 87 degrees. It was hot and I was not happy. Needless to say, the end was in sight and I managed a 35 or so second improvement from last year. Both my swim and bike were faster, while my run fell about 4 minutes slower.

If this were an ordinary year, and I was using this race as my last tune-up before IM Louisville, I’d be pretty worried. However, I am well aware that this is not an ordinary year for me. My training is at a new level, and I did run 100 miles 2 weeks prior to this race. An improvement of any sort – even a matter of seconds – shows me that I truly am at a new level of fitness, and I am ready to take on Louisville in 6 weeks. This past week was all about the rest. I will not forgot how bad my legs hurt after that race; without rest they would not make it through another hard 4 week training phase. So, I took a lot of time off, got some more time in the pool, and fine tuned my training plan for the weeks to come. My training leading up to the race is coming straight from beIRONfit by Don Fink, so hopefully that will go well.

§ One Response to >Prov Seventy Point Three

  • Andrew says:

    >Quite the baller performance two weeks after WS100! Sorry I didnt see you after the race but we'll def have to make sure to hang out in Clearwater.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Prov Seventy Point Three at .

meta

