>Hit List

May 26, 2009 § 10 Comments

>I am 32 days away, and my OCD is causing me to already get some minor preparations in place for the Big Day. Thus, I need all of your help! Now most of you probably have heard my opinion on running with an ipod. I don’t like it. For me, it distracts me from the gorgeous places I get to run in, or from some valuable/hilarious conversations with other runners. Also, I am usually running to get away from things like the computer or the Blackberry, and strapping on an ipod seems a bit counterintuitive. That being said, I’ve always had a hunch that running with music could actually make me faster, because it is a distraction. And when you’re running 50+ miles, a distraction can be a good thing.

Anyway, I’ll cut to the chase: I am putting together an epic playlist for Western States. In the event that my spirits start to sink, or my body is giving me a problem, I will be pulling out all the stops to keep myself from stopping. The ipod is one of them. Now, I don’t really think I need help, persay, to put together the most baller list of songs in the world. However, if everyone can contribute to the playlist (about 5 songs?) it may also help me because when your songs come on, I’ll be able to think of you idiots back at home drinking beer and having fun and I might run a little faster. There are no guidelines for the songs you contribute, but think long and hard about it! I want good ones. I mean like Christina Aguilera’s “Come On Over” good!

Thank you!!

§ 10 Responses to >Hit List

  • cgb says:

    >I’m not sure if you want to use my suggestions or not, but a 100 miler race would need a lot of music… so here is my favorite faster paced 1990s alt rock (best music there is) playlist:Harvey Danger – Flagpole SittaVertical Horizon – Everything You WantCake – The DistanceNine Days – Absolutely (Story of a Girl)Third Eyed Blind – Semi-charmed Life

  • RM says:

    >Or the sweet cover of Mariah Carey’s “always be my baby” that other alyssa had on her iPod that Brennan and I crooned to the other night

  • Andrew says:

    >OK, here goes. I gave you 10 so that you can pick the best 5. Or use all if it turns into a long day…The Killers- Read My Mind The Refreshments- BanditosKatie Perry- Hot & ColdGreen Day- Basket CaseBowling for Soup- Last Call Casualty Eve 6- Open Road SongJay Z- 99 ProblemsSum 41- Fat LipWeezer- Surf Wax AmericaAll American Rejects- Move Along

  • Anonymous says:

    >Dropkick Murphy’s: Shipping Up to BostonMIA: Paper PlanesBlack Eyed Peas: Pump ItGwen Stefani: Wind it UpGOOD LUCK ALYSSA!

  • fbg says:

    >I don’t share this information with just anybody, but since you’re attempting such a huge feat, I’ll let you in on my secrets. Here are the songs that I equate with some great moment or race in my running career. These songs are in some way, for me, sacred (that means I will get mad if anyone makes fun of them):1) Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns ‘n’ Roses2) Burning Heart – Rocky Soundtrack3) No Easy Way Out – Rocky Soundtrack4) My Sharona – The Knack (good for relaxing in the first part of the race)5) Living On a Prayer – Bon Jovi (“…whoooa! We’re half way there…!”)6) Gotta Make it to Heaven – 50 Cent7) Thunderstruck – AC/DC8) Orion – Metallica

  • RM says:

    >On Our Own – Bobby Brown (from the Ghostbusters II soundtrack)The Bravery – Something to Believe (moonman mix)Gym Class Heroes – New Friend RequestGermain Stewart – We Don’t Have to Take Our Clothes OffOn the theme of BEP and Gwen,boom boom pow – bepcrash – gwenSide note and I wouldn’t recommend for a sweet jams list necessarily, Katy Perry’s Waking Up In Vegas is sweet.

  • Anonymous says:

    >You should try:Smoke two joints- SublimeSensi- Long Beach Dub AllstarsKaya- Bob MarleyLegalize it- Peter ToshJust joking, but seriously, you should relax a bit. You’re talented and you’ll do just great. I predict a 20-21hr finish for you.

  • Collin says:

    >You don’t even want to know what I listen to when racing 50+ers…

  • RM says:

    >Barbara Streisand, Judy Garland mix tapes, Elton John, Boy George and George Michael…haha

  • Funnyrunner says:

    >ooh. hard to do this without knowing how old you are (I'm a child of the 80s myself), but I have these on my marathon playlist:(I know… I am nothing compared to you!;)Let it Rock (Kevin Rudolf)Legs (ZZ Top)Break my Stride (Graham BLVD)Shellshock (New Order) lyrics include: "it's never enough until your heart stops beating" :)I Am Superman (REM)Crash (The Primitives)Gonna Make you Sweat (C+C Music Factory)Kiss Off (Violent Femmes)No Surrender (Bruce Springsteen)Ready to Run (Dixie Chicks)Tubthumping (Chumbawamba)Lose Yourself (Eminem)Get Ready for This and not as inspirational but to smile:Iko Iko (Belle Stars)Yummy (Gwen Stefani)Oh Yeah (Yello)Good luck! Kick ass!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Hit List at .

meta

