>Survivor Audish

April 11, 2009 § Leave a comment

>Today between the hours of 11:45 and 3pm I attended the Survivor casting call. This becomes the 2nd reality show I have applied for (the first being the Bachelor). Looking back, I realize how lucky I was to have gotten out of there so quickly. However, it didn’t feel quickly at the time as my feet were sitting in my little work shoes in cold puddles of water, and my arms were involuntarily shaking with coldness in their 3-quarter length sleeve spring jacket. But let me start from the beginning.

My manager was so excited I was going, she let me out of work an hour early to head to Catonsville where the casting call was. I arrive there and am quickly told that I actually have to park about a mile away at the Circuit City, and take the “shuttle” back to the car dealership. Whatever. The tent didn’t look very full, so no biggie. When I return, I hand in my completed application. In my application I made sure to convery the whole me. When asked what political office I would like to have if given the chance to have anything I wrote that I wouldn’t want any office because that’s too much responsibility and stress for my life. Who would I like to be stranded on a deserted island with? Obvi a hot dude (aka Clive Owen) to makeout with, or Lady GaGa so she can sing her jams and I’ll dance. What 3 things (non-survival related) would I bring with me when stranded? A ball to play catch with to pass the time. A blow up raft so I can tan and float. And tampons. Those questions are just a quick sampling of the gems that the CBS producers will get to read through later.

Anyway, so I get #257 and take a seat. That’s when I realize that IT’S FREEZING and my feet are already soaking wet. Obvi though you can’t complain when trying out for Survivor. So I upload my FB status and start to read my book. Then I get a call saying that my friends brother is there too! Thank god for facebook. So anyway we find each other and help pass the time by chatting. At one point I look back, and inside the tent there was a Jeep that the dealership had a sign on that said “Buy Me!”. I noticed a few heads in the car. Genius! I run back and ask if they’re waiting to audition (they are) and before I know it I find myself in the car with Spider and Alicia Keys. Actually the dude really did look like Spider, it was weird. So I got a littler warmer and was able to wait out the last hour before my number was called. I go in and I’m the 2nd person in the group to go in front of the cameras, and wouldn’t you know it I’m filmed not only by the audition crew, but also the local news people. Bonus! I did say bitch though while they filmed me so I’m not sure I’ll make the cut for the news tonight. We shall see.

Anyway, if they pick the cool kids for call-backs, I’ll def get to the next round. My fear, however, is that they are going to pick the “characters”. Let me describe a few:
-The dude with overalls, a tank top, tattoos and his own Survivor idol he built.
-The dude who carried around a box of ashes of his dead brother everywhere he went.
-The obese young adult who came wearing every peice of Survivor paraphinalia to exist
-Spider
-The chick who came with some dude she had just married in Vegas last night…and had only met him 6 days ago.

I may not be as interesting as them, but as I told the camera today, at least people won’t cringe when they have to watch me do things for an hour every week.

Oh, and dear mom: be proud. I was not this girl: http://twitpic.com/35mbx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Survivor Audish at .

meta

