>Nougetaboutit

March 12, 2009 § 6 Comments

>So I’m getting pretty excited. I have finally moved to my new apartment which is awes even though I am still sleeping on a mattress on the floor. What does this mean? No distractions, and best of all, no more excuses. I can no longer put off a morning workout because DB Dan is taking an hour long shower at 530 in the morning. I can no longer say that I didn’t get enough sleep and can’t workout hard because Carson and her boyfriend were banging above me and causing a rucus. And best of all, I have an entire kitchen…all…to…myself! The way I see it, phase one of this year is complete. The 50K’s are behind me and from now on out it’s more miles and more competition. A month ago, I was having my doubts about the year. I was having trouble finding the motivation for the long runs and swims, wondering if it would all really pay off in the end. Luckily, this is no more. I am itching for some long weekends out in the mountains, and I’ve gotten my confidence back that this is really what I want to be doing. No doubt about it, the weather plays its part in me wanting to be outside more, and I figure if I’m outside I may as well be training.

What have the past 2.5 months told me? I have a solid base. Ryan confirms my idea that in endurance sports, its all about the base. You can’t simply “get through” a race like an Ironman or a 100 mile. My plan looking ahead is to do 3 big weekends in April, 4 big weekends in May (Big weekends == 25-30 miles running Saturday (or a race), 20 miles Sunday and/or a long run on Saturday and a long ride on Sunday), and then start to fine tune things for June (which includes the TAYLOR SWIFT extravaganza…woop woop). Then it will be all the time on the bike and in the water I can manage through July and August, including Providence. After the IM it will be rest and rebuild time. Depending on how my tri’s go, I may or may not be making plans for October. If not, then I’m hopefully going to put together a Rim2Rim2Rim run in the Grand Canyon as a little vaca. Follow that up with JFK and possibly Hellgate 100K in Dec, and my year is over. Boy how time flies when you look at a race schedule…

Some changes to my training:
-Previously a lot of my doubles included 2 running sessions. Now I will combine those to one longer one, and double it with the bike or swimming.
-Strength training: I am not very good at lifting, nor do I enjoy it or want to learn how to do it. I’ll put in 50 pushups a day and 150 situps a day (subject to increase incrementally weekly) to improve my strength and core.
-Goodbye binging. This includes food and bevs.
-HILLS. Lots of them. More of them. I will heart hills by June.

§ 6 Responses to >Nougetaboutit

  • RM says:

    >Can you describe this ruckus? (movie reference from the 80s you may or may not know)After Tuesday’s moving session, I have discovered that yes, you are pretty weak. Not that you have to be able to bench your weight or curl with 40lb weights, but you can see some improvements when incorporating weight training.It makes a large difference at the end of a 140 mile race when you know you’re stronger than everyone around you.

  • EL says:

    >I am sitting here laughing because you wrote rim…3 times! And feeling like a schmuck because I don’t want to run a measly 7 today.

  • Jen says:

    >Does this include cheetos??

  • alyssa says:

    >Ryan – the problem I have always run into with lifting is that it makes me look huge. When Gavis Degraw told me my arms were jacked I had to stop for awhile.Emily – RIM. hahaha.Jen – Unfort yes. But don’t worry, there’s always loopholes.

  • RM says:

    >Ouch, Gavin Degraw was like “alyssa is my chariot….” haha

  • alyssa says:

    >haha, i hate you.oh AND The Breakfast Club. duh.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Nougetaboutit at .

meta

