>Ahoy

February 24, 2009 § 2 Comments

>As my training is starting to pick up and my nurition plan is in gear, I found myself looking back through some old pics of my time at USNA and reminiscing about the shape I was in then. This brought back some memories of sub-six minute miles (okay, just once, and it was a 5:57), of a time when I could do 50+ push ups in a row, and a time when I’d do over 120 situps in 2 minutes without tiring. Even though my times in ultras have improved since, my strength to weight ratio was optimal during those years. Thus, I am reinstituting some Navy tidbits into my training henceforth. My running will not get that quick anytime soon, but the philosophy of strength training via situps, pushups, squats, lunges and pullups can certainly be implemented. Another thing I realized is that no matter how active I am now, I am not nearly as active as I was then. I’m not sure how to include chopping* into my everyday lifestyle in Baltimore, but the principle of it can be. Riding my bike, walking, and running to places instead of driving is a big part of that. Hopefully the weather will turn around soon and allow me to capitalize on that. Anyway, I found a few good pics to share with the masses. I will entitle this photo montage “No really, I was actually in the Navy”:
The amount of space you see in this pic is the total amount of space I was allowed to live in for a month on a ship. Ignore my fake-smile. I was miserable. Do note my sweet bed-making skills.

This is sort of like Where’s Waldo except I’ll give you a hint – I’m the large and awkward girl in the middle picking a wedgie.

3 weeks on a 44-ft sailboat in the Atlantic makes Alyssa very very unhappy.
*Chopping: the manner in which plebes (freshman) have to move about the hallways of Bancroft Hall (the dorm) at all times. It consists of short, double-time steps (about 160-180 steps per minute).
§ 2 Responses to >Ahoy

  • RM says:

    >Finally – a sweet blog post! I figured chopping was similar to hacking here in Baltimore, just taking place in Annapolis so it refers to boats instead of cars.I prefer the term “power to weight ratio”You ran a 5:57??When I used to ride my bike to and from class, I definitely added 10-15 miles a day in riding. Some would argue that whatever, it’s not real riding, but I disagree. Anytime you’re working on the motion of riding a bicycle is good, and walking keeps you fit. It just also takes some balance to make sure you’re focusing on important workouts and not overtiring yourself necessarily.I wish the weather would stay nice and I could ride places.

  • alyssa says:

    >1. all of my posts are sweet.2. Yes, I ran a 5:57, once. It was plebe summer and we were doing mile repeats with our designated pace groups, I think I was in the 6:40 group for it. One of the details said that if we ran the first mile in under 6, we didn’t have to do the rest. So I did it. Then the detailer was all like “oh so are you just going to leave your shipmates face down in a rice patty doing the workout while you relax?” Needless to say, the correct answer to that question was no, and I had to do the workout.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Ahoy at .

meta

