>A Special Bond(age)

February 20, 2009 § 3 Comments

>The other day I was doing my usual Sugar Factory/Harbor loop in the morning, and as I entered the harbor I fell into stride next to a man who was on his morning run as well. Now, we all know that old men flock to me like my roommates flock to boxed wine, but this was diff.

We ran together for about 50 feet before he said “nice morning for a run!” This simple statement spawned a conversation between us that lasted for another mile or so until I turned around at the fountain. I learned that he has two children – his daughter just graduated from Skidmore and his son is now getting his MBA after graduating from Carnegie Mellon (sorry ladies, he’s not single…). I learned that he was in town on business, and there was about 6 inches of snow from where he’s from in Northeastern PA. He likes traveling to Baltimore and running here because it’s so different from running the dark and lonely country roads he runs at home. He found out that I went to Navy and UVA, moved to Baltimore about a year ago, and that working in the real world is slowly sucking the life out of me.

Our lives couldn’t be more different. In any other situation I would have been pretty creeped out by a man just outwardly asking me about my life and such. But it made me realize that runners, no matter your pace or what your training for, have a common bond. It’s weird and you can’t really explain it, but it’s there, and there’s some sort of comfort in that.

Pretty baller slash deep for a Friday morning, huh.

§ 3 Responses to >A Special Bond(age)

  • >This sort of thing is what I image Ryan contemplating all day. I hope I am correct, and that he is in the process of writing a book of profound ideas. I hope his book gets published and he goes on a book tour with Michael Phelps who would be promoting the book to restore his image. You would be able to use the same publisher to get that all but forgotten dic published. But I think Michael Phelps would be done restoring his image so you would be out of luck there.

  • THE KRIS says:

    >how come whenever i try to tell you about my life you just say “creepy” and walk away?

  • RM says:

    >1) Skidmore…haha2) “Pretty baller slash deep”My phallus of knowledge usually probes deeper tissue than that

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >A Special Bond(age) at .

meta

