>Do what you do

February 13, 2009 § Leave a comment

> My sister: What are you doing for Valentines Day?
Me: Running a 34 mile race in Virginia.
My sister: (Sighs)…Of course you are.

Yeah, F you sis, because I am. And it’s going to be awesome. Hopefully all the dumb runners will bring a significant other out who will try to makeout with them at the aide stations and give me time to fly by them. haha. Anyway in reality, I am pretty unprepared to go into this race, and thus will not be expecting much. My goal is to finish in a solid time, split it pretty even, and just give a good effort. As Francesca said: “remember what you’re training for.” I translated this into Alyssa-speak: “do what you do.” This is not my race to expend all my effort and energy…nor is it a race to worry about times and places. In fact, it’s a weird distance of a race so I don’t even have a previous time to compare to, nor have I ever run those trails before. It’s just a stepping stone to get me to June.

That being said, I have collected a sweet quasi Valentine’s playlist to pump me up on the 1.5 hour drive to the start at 430 in the morning on Saturday:

1. 99 Problems, Jay-Z
2. Gives you hell, All American Rejects
3. Sex on Fire, Kings of Leon
4. Miss Independent, Ne-Yo
5. Total Eclipse of the Heart, Airsupply
6. Heartless, Kanye
7. Girlfriend, Avril
8. Honest Mistake, The Bravery
9. Troublemaker, Akon
10. Right Round – Flo Rida
11. Damn, I wish I was your lover, Sophie B Hawkins
12. The Party’s Just Begun, The Cheetah Girls
13. Money Honey, Lady Gaga
14. White Horse, Taylor Swift
15. Great DJ, the Ting Tings
16. Lace and Leather, Britney
17. Can’t escape my love, Enrique
18. Chariot, Gavin Degraw
19.I think I’m in love with you, Jessica Simpson

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Do what you do at .

meta

