>Inside the mind of a genius

December 29, 2008 § 3 Comments

>I constantly get people asking me if I listen to music when I do my long runs/races, and when I say no they always want to know what I think about for all those hours. Thus, I’d like to shed some light onto what exactly are some of the things I think about when I run. Yesterday I spent about 2.5 hours at Susquehanna (NOTE – I did not see another human being this whole time, the trails are in great condition and it was awesome. Only 35 minutes away!), and here is what I thought about:
1. What are the odds of a deer running into me?
2. What are the odds of me running over a squirrel that darts out in front of me and killing it?
3. Would I hook up with Michael Phelps if I ran into him out in Baltimore? (Answer: yes, obvi. And I’d try to steal a medal.)
4. Would I hook up with Flacco if I ran into him out in Baltimore? (Answer: Probably…mostly because I would try to fix his unibrow….)
4. I am currently reading Outliers. One of the main points of the book is that people like professional athletes, or just very successful people – i.e. Bill Gates, have worked hard and have natural talent to get them to where they are now, but their success has also depended heavily on other factors. These factors are things like when they were born, where they went to college, who their mentors were, or any other lucky break they may have had. He proves that all of these factors culminate in that person having the opportunity for extensive experience and practice in their field. I’m not sure if that explanation makes sense, but basically after studying all these people, he discovered that people reach their peak abilities in whatever field after 10,000 hours of practice. He argues that more than that doesn’t really improve your abilities, but less than that can drastically hurt your performance. So I thought a lot about how long it would be until I logged 10,000 hours of running. I came up with the approximation of 35 years old. Interestingly, most female ultrarunners are about 35 at their peak. hmm.
5. I wish I didn’t fall in that stream in the first mile.
6. I wonder how long it would take people to find me here if I fell off the trail and down into the river.
7. I wish I brought a Snickers.
8. I wonder if I can make it through all of New Years in heels.
9. Do I even have flats to match my NYE dress?

§ 3 Responses to >Inside the mind of a genius

  • ///MM says:

    >1. I ran into a deer like 2 years ago in the poconos. Luckily it was a little spotted bambi deer and it just bounced off my knee and kinda spun around. I think running into a full grown deer would f- you up.2. Not sure about squirrels, but stepping on rabbits (unintentionally) while running surprisingly doesn’t seem to hurt them. Squirrels are better at avoiding footsteps it seems (at least in my extensive touch football experience in suburban philadelphia backyards/parks).

  • RM says:

    >Arjun got hit by a deer, ask him about it if you haven’t already heard the story.

  • Jen says:

    >I’ve never actually seen what Flacco looks like until today, I agree with your thoughts completely. I think we’ve found a stellar New Year’s Resolutions, pluck those bad boys down.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Inside the mind of a genius at .

meta

