>Dream Scheme

December 9, 2008 § 11 Comments

>

So after a weekend of partying like slash with rockstars in the Jers, I am back to blogging. Woop woop. First things first – if you are looking for a 2009 calendar, consider this one. The proceeds go to the Washington Trails Associate and it has some pretty sick pictures of the places where some races I hope to do someday are held. It also has a dece collection of race dates already put on the calendar for you!

Two – I just saw that Flight of the Conchords is in fact returning for another season January 18th (I actually think I had been told this, and forgot it. So re-remembering it today was just as fulfilling). This makes me happy, and so I’ll give you a short little FOTC quote to make you laugh and get pumped as well:
Dave: Hot bod. Gross face. I get it. Just hit that shit from behind.

Three – The Dream Scheme. In all of my planning and scheming for races this year, it has become obvious to me that I will not be able do more than 2 travel races per year, unless I want to live off of Cheerios and Ramen for the rest of my life. Or at least until I marry rich or win the lottery that is. Until then, the constraints of budgeting both time and money will have to keep me somewhat local for the majority of the racing season. Since I am running WS well ahead of my anticipated schedule, this got me looking at some of my other goal races/runs:
Canadian Death Race: I mostly want to do this because of the name, I won’t lie. Still, it looks like a pretty legit race in a part of Canada I definitely want to spend some time in, and the competition is usually pretty sparse on the woman’s side so I could have a dece shot at a good place.
St Croix 70.3: Interestingly enough, my bike has already riden this course with it’s previous owner. In fact, it was the only race on that bike before I owned it.
Comrades Marathon: I will have to catch this race on an “up” year, but probably not for the next 5 years.
Rim2Rim2Rim at the Grand Canyon: Hopefully I’ll get out there for this in the next 1-2 years. A group usually “races” it in October, but it seems simple enough to coordinate on your own.
Desert RATS: I am actually contemplating this for 2010. After this year I feel like I’m definitely in the shape I want to be in where I could attempt a multi-day race. My recoveries after both GEER and JFK were really good, and I don’t think it’s out of the question to race successive long runs if I train properly.
Badwater: I don’t even actually want to do this one. It’s just something that has to be done.
-A thru run of the Appalachian Trail: Yes, I realize that this one seems a little outlandish and excessive. Nonetheless, in a dream world I would find the time to do it. I feel like in the short term, the only possibility I would have of finding the time for it would be if I decide to go full-time to a grad school program, and leave my job well before the start of the school year to do this before the year started. Unlikely, but still an idea that sits in the back of my head.
§ 11 Responses to >Dream Scheme

  • >If I ever get really rich I would love to sponsor your extravagant race schedule. While I am at it I think I have a few friends who would love to just race all year around. You could all be part of the Arjundar Racing Team. If you are going to dream, dream big.

  • gtach says:

    >I really appreciate you spreading the word about our calendar! Thank you!!!You definitely should come out and run some of the races in the PNW!

  • Ben says:

    >i’ve dreamt of doing the AT too. but, i think i might need to wait until retirement at this point – if kendra let’s me – yes, I know i’m whipped.i’ve hiked down 5 miles into the grand canyon – i totally want to do rim-to-rim. experiencing the grand canyon only from the rim is like eating the crust of an apple pie.

  • RM says:

    >”experiencing the grand canyon only from the rim is like eating the crust of an apple pie”Whoa, this is a message loaded with sexual rife. I think I may have just made rife up as a word different from its intended use.Arjun, you already have someone to sponsor, concentrate on that. But if you are in the giving mood, also consider sponsoring me. I want to do a lot of sweet races also.

  • Ben says:

    >ryan sniffs out any possible sexual innuendos like a dog spotting a leg.

  • Ben says:

    >actually, scratch that – ryan senses possible sexual innuendo like peter parker knows someone is in trouble. i use metaphors like a dog humps someone’s leg – aggresively at first, but then with a mixture of disappointment, shame and regret. But, that doesn’t mean i won’t do it again.

  • >Ryan you were def on the racing team… along with a few friends from college and Melissa. It would be a formidable group.

  • RM says:

    >Ben that was really awkward.Arjun, get rich son! Get that paper kid! Make those dollars!

  • alyssa says:

    >ben with your age you can prob retire in what, like, 3 years right? better start planning your AT excursion.muahaha.

  • Ben says:

    >what’s with the mad scientist laugh for a joke about my age?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Dream Scheme at .

meta

