>Taking time

December 4, 2008 § Leave a comment

>As I sat down today to map out my next six months of training, I realized that before I do that I should take some time to look at this past year and appreciate what I have already accomplished. In 2008, I had 11 individual races in which I entered competitively. The mileage of these races totals about 275 miles, plus several triathlons. I had one win and six top-ten finishes, as well as 4 PR’s. All of this was accomplished in the midst of graduating from college, moving to Baltimore, and starting my first job. This just shows me that no matter what else is going on, if i make the time to train, it will pay off. It also shows me that I have moved to a place with some pretty great friends. I have no doubt that TWSS has played an integral part in my athletic success in the past 6 months, and for that I’m thankful.

That being said, it’s clear to me that I’m in a pretty good place moving into 2009. As my coach/mentor/good friend Francesca Conte pointed out, an entry to WS could not have come at a better time for me. Finishing GEER – and finishing well – gives me the confidence to spring to a 100 miler despite my previous plans for one being in 2010. Although my race plans have changed a handful of times in the past month, now that my name is officially on the WS100 entrants list, I can confirm that my racing priorities for 2009 lie with WSER and IM Louisville. Western States is only about 200 days away, hence why I am already sitting down to look at training, seeing as it will be another couple weeks before I have an official coaching session. I still prefer to do my training plans and logs the old school way on paper, so there won’t be too many deets on here. The jist of the plan, however, is to take the rest of December relatively easy before getting into it seriously in January. Each month will then consist of week-long training blocks: build1, build2, Peak, and recovery. There is certainly debate on how long the building to peak phases should be, but I trained like this for GEER, and although I was tired, I think it’s what needs to be done to get your body in shape for endurance races. By April I will be running 30ish mile long runs weekly with the exception of the recovery weeks. This means that yes, Boston will most likely have to include a 10 mile run beforehand. It also means that I will probably be racing a 50K 5 days later (that doesn’t make me too nervous – in ’07 I raced Boston and 5 days later PRed at Collegiate Triathlon Nationals). In May I will boost the mileage a little bit more. There is a 24 hour race I plan to use as a way to get in about 60 miles, and I will be heading to Squaw Valley over Memorial Day weekend for the WS training run which includes about 70 miles in 3 days. I have not quite figured out my taper yet, but I will include a mini one before Eagleman, and then really rest for those last 2 weeks.

The real fun lies in balancing the time I will spend doing all that running with the time I need to spend on my bike and in the pool for the IM. For one thing, every recovery week will include a lot of both of those. On the other weeks, my long runs will have to be followed up the next day with a long ride. And I already swim often in the mornings, so that shouldn’t be too hard to keep up anyway. My track workouts will probably become more frequent hill workouts, because that is where I know I have the most improvement to make.

All in all, it will be nice to take the next month to chose my own workouts and not have to do a time consuming long run every weekend. But I still am looking forward to getting ’09 started and seeing what happens.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >Taking time at .

meta

