>My Voting Experience

November 4, 2008 § 1 Comment

>True to form, my voting experience was not quick and simple. Here’s a run down:
6:30 am. In line at voting establishment behind about 25 other peeps.
7:00 am. Doors open.
7:01 am. The patrons behind me are frantically yelling “alyssa??? alyssa??” I raise my hand and wave at them. They pass forward my voters registration card I apparently dropped. Now the 50 people behind me in line know not only my name and address, but also my current party affiliation.
7:10 am. Get my voting card thingy for the machine. Approach voting machine number 1. Insert my voter card. Voter card rejected. Re-insert voter card. Rejected. Repeat process 10 more times.
7:11 am. Raise my hand and try to get the attention of an “election judge”. Woman next to me feels I am trying to look over her cubby and gives me dirty looks, redirecting her body to make sure her stupid votes are shielded from my vision.
7:12 am. Head voting judge comes over, removes me from station number 1. Reissues me voting card, which allows me to get in front of the rest of the line that’s still coming through.
7:13 am. Frantically apologizing to everyone angry at me who thinks I am either voting twice or cutting in line.
7:15 am. Successfully insert new voting card into machine number 3 and cast ballot.
7:19 am. Receive I VOTED sticker from nice old lady who I think they kidnapped from the Walmart Greeters.
7:20 am. Proceed to trip down the steps of the building as I exit because I was flustered as a cute doctor jokes with me about how come I didn’t try to vote 3 times instead of just 2.
Current update: I can’t find my ID and I’m pretty sure I left it at the voting establishment. Excellent.

§ One Response to >My Voting Experience

  • fbg says:

    >Did you tell the doctor that you would have voted a third time, but that his name wasn’t on the ballot? And a fourth time.. and a fifth time…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading >My Voting Experience at .

meta

